Welcome! This website is a resource for preceptors for the University of Minnesota health sciences programs. Please Note: Some resources are only available to preceptors with faculty status. Contact Karla Block with comments or questions.
Now Available!
The Preceptor's Guide to Library Resources
For non-faculty preceptors (those without official U of M appointments), please go to the Visitors and Patients page.
- Workshop Recordings
Can't make one of our workshops? Here's your alternative. Recordings of "live" workshops are now available for a variety of topics. Check it out!
[Return to Top]
Professional Resources: General
- MNCAT
Search MNCAT, the libraries' catalog, to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic.
Please note that non-faculty preceptors (those without official U of M appointments) may also want to check MnLINK for resources in your proximity and/or information you can use to request interlibrary loans through your local public library.
- MnLINK
For non-faculty preceptors, this combined catalog of the library resources of the state of Minnesota offers a wealth of materials which can be borrowed through the electronic InterLibrary Loan form on the University Libraries' home page. MnLINK also allows selective searching in specific libraries or regions, making it possible to locate materials in public libraries in the Minneapolis/St. Paul metro area that are within commuting range of the University's campuses.
- Access
You must have a library card from any public library in the state of Minnesota. This card will enable you to search for books and journals, as well as request items through Inter Library Loan (Ill).
- PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty
 Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all MEDLINE e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries. Includes MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (articles more recent than found in MEDLINE). USE THIS LINK IF YOU HAVE AN OFFICIAL U OF M APPOINTMENT AND ARE A FACULTY PRECEPTOR.
- PubMed - Public Version
Primary source of journal citations for the health sciences - the public version provides limited full text access to journal articles. Includes MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (articles more recent than found in MEDLINE). USE THIS LINK IF YOU DO NOT HAVE AN OFFICIAL U OF M APPOINTMENT AND ARE A NON-FACULTY PRECEPTOR.
- ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota
"Search ELM for magazine, newspaper, and journal articles, eBooks, and information from reference sources–available to all Minnesota residents at no charge!"
- Access
A public library card from the state of Minnesota gives you access to this database and full text journal articles.
- National Cancer Instiute
Reliable information for practitioners and consumers regarding types of cancer, treatment, clinical trials, and more.
- CDC Wonder
WONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data.
- Cochrane Library
"The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the worlds best medical research studies, and are recognised as the gold standard in evidence-based health care."
- Department of Health
The MN Department of Health operates programs for disease prevention and control, health promotion, family and community health, environmental health, health care policy, and regulation of health care providers and facilities. It also includes data and statistics.
- FDA
Center for drug evaluation and research.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
"The NGC mission is to provide physicians, nurses, and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation and use".
- Lab Tests Online
"A public resource on clinical lab testing from the laboratory professionals who do the testing."
- Merck Manual
Online medical textbook that includes descriptions of hundreds of diseases.
- MerckMedicus
A "medical portal designed specifically for physicians and other healthcare providers."
Please Note: Registration Required
[Return to Top]
Consumer Health Resources for the Professional and Patient
- MedlinePlus
Commercial free, reliable, free health information including health topics, drug information, health news, medical encyclopedia and dictionary, interactive tutorials, and more.
- My Health Minnesota → Go Local
Listing of health services and providers throughout Minnesota that is part of the National Library of Medicine's MedlinePlus Go Local initiative.
[Return to Top]
Page Coordinator: Karla Block block006@tc.umn.edu
|
Free Resources
Free Drug Information

Search Library Catalogs
Search MNCAT Library Catalog Find Books, Journals, Video & More
Search E-Journals
Find Library Owned Online Journals
Bio-Medical Library Services
Borrowing/Ordering Services
|