185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Toxicology

Page Type: 
RQS
ID: 
204

Staff ImageSubject Librarian: Jim Beattie
E-Mail: jbeattie@umn.edu
Subject Description:This subject covers: the study of poisons, their detection, their effects, and the methods of treatment for the conditions they produce.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *

PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
SciFinder Scholar Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

SciFinder Scholar is the best database for chemistry-related topics; Access it online, download software to use it on your home or office computer, access it from public computers in Walter, BioMedical, or Magrath Libraries by clicking on the SciFinder desktop icon (note: access contractually restricted to current U of MN faculty, students and staff). SciFinder Scholar includes journal and patent literature with references as far back as 1907 as well as information on chemical regulatory data, suppliers, reactions, and substances. You will need to download and log in to VPN before you can access SciFinder from off-campus.
Non-affiliates should see this guide for options.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Web of Science is the Web interface for the ISI Citation Index products which cover over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Titles of the print equivalent are: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Coverage runs from 1975 to the present. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Biological Abstracts Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Biological Abstracts (part of BIOSIS Previews) is one of the foremost sources of bibliographic references to the life science journal literature. This database enables researchers and students to retrieve references to vital biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Approximately 90% of the records include abstracts. Basic truncation symbols are the dollar sign: $ or the colon: :.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books from over 5000 publications. [BIOSIS Previews consists of Biological Abstracts (journal articles) and Biological Abstracts/RRM (reports, reviews, and meetings).] Basic truncation symbols are the dollar sign: $ or the colon: :.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 10 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
CAB Abstracts Plus Full Text Select Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

CAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health. It provides bibliographic citations with abstracts in English for records of all languages. Indexes journal articles, monographs, conferences, and other primary literature.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Database Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This database provides comprehensive, multidisciplinary coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 sources including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Incorporates Pollution Abstracts, Water Resources Abstracts, and other specialized databases.

Areas of coverage include agricultural and environmental biotechnology, ecology, energy resources, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements (U.S.), pollution, toxicology & toxic emissions, and water resource issues.

The ESPM database is comprised of the following component databases:

Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/agabstracts
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/asfa3
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/bacabs
Ecology Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/ecolabs
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/eisdigests
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/envengabs
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/healthsafetyabs
Human Population & Natural Resource Management
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/hpnrm
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/indappmicroabs
Pollution Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/pollabs
Risk Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/riskabs
Sustainability Science Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/sustabs
Toxicology Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/toxicabs
Water Resources Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/waterabs


[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Google Scholar - U of M students, staff and faculty Authentication Required

Use Google Scholar through the Libraries' web site, or by setting your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities) to gain off-campus access to all the articles and journal subscriptions the library has already acquired for you. Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

When using any one of the three access methods below, the text link, "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities", will appear in your Google Scholar search results. Then clicking the "Find It" link will present you with a menu of full-text and related service options for the Scholar search result you followed. To benefit from this service, access Google Scholar via:

  1. any U of M Twin Cities Campus Internet connection,
  2. the "special" link to Google Scholar that the Libraries provide (below or from the Libraries' Google Scholar listing on "Indexes"), or
  3. the regular link to Google Scholar when having set up your Scholar Preferences to the "University of Minnesota (FindIt@U of M Twin Cities)."

Google Scholar FAQ

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
HubMed

Alternative interface to the MEDLINE/PubMed health and biological sciences database. Provides a number of powerful features not included in PubMed (e.g., direct export of citations to your RefWorks account), and retains many advanced functionalities of PubMed (e.g., ability to use PubMed's syntax to refine your searches).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
INSPEC ® Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Provides comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature in the fields of physics and astrophysics, electrical engineering, electronics, computing and control, and information technology. Indexed are primarily journal articles and conference papers, with some books,technical reports, and dissertations. The database provides bibliographic citations plus abstracts.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA via OvidSP) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Provides information on all phases of the development and use of drugs and on professional pharmaceutical practice.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 3 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers - biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
TOXLINE

TOXLINE includes citations to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, and meeting abstracts, papers and reports on Toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Health and Medicine in the News

Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition].

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Indexes, Other

CCINFOWeb Authentication Required

Collection of toxicology-related databases from Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS). Databases include MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) and RTECS (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances)

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Haz-Map

Contains information on hazards related to many occupations, whether due to chemicals, diseases, or other associated risk factors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
TOXNET

Online collection of toxicology-related databases including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), TOXLINE, and several others. All databases can be searched at once.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

MNCAT Classic

Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources

American Men & Women of Science

Provides brief factual information on approximately 130,000 living scientists in biology, physical sciences, public health, mathematics, statistics, and computer science. Includes birthdate, education, professional career, and honors received.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Authentication Required

Focuses particularly on contemporary scientists and includes selected bibliographies, chronologies, tables of scientific discoveries, and quotations.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Chemical Compounds

ChemIDplus

ChemIDplus indexes more than 368,000 records for chemical substances cited in the National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. It is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure (requires Chime plug-in or ISIS/Draw). The records contain information on structure, names and synonyms, formulas, registry numbers, and some physical properties in addition to toxicity information and links to NLM-indexed articles which cite the substances.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Combined Chemical Dictionary Authentication Required

Database of descriptive & numerical data on chemical, physical & biological properties of compounds; systematic & common names; literature references; & structures. Contains all compounds included in: Dictionary of Organic Compounds (255,000 records) Dictionary of Natural Products (170,000) ; Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds (101,000) ; Dictionary of Drugs (40,000+) ; Dictionary of Analytical Reagents (14,000)

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology

BIO-MED Reference QH575 D554 1999; MAGRATH Reference QH575 .D52x 1999

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dictionary of Gene Technology Terms

MAGRATH Reference QH442 .Z48 2001

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dictionary of Gene Technology: Genomics, Transcriptomics, Proteomics

MAGRATH Reference QH506 .K333 2004

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology

MAGRATH Reference QR9 .S56 2001

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Facts on File Dictionary of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering

MAGRATH Reference TP248.16 .S84 2001

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Authentication Required

WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk) QD5 .C5 2001

Gives technical and descriptive data for common substances and phenomena. Identifies thousands of chemicals by name, physical properties, source of occurrence, shipping regulations, CAS number, hazards, derivations, synonyms and applications. Available online through Knovel as well as in print.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology

BIO-MED Reference QW513 C957i 2003

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Lewis' Dictionary of Toxicology

MAGRATH Reference RA1193 .L48 1998; BIO-MED Reference QV13 L675L 1998

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Life Science Dictionary (BioTech)

Defines over 6,500 terms associated with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cellular biology and genetics, as well as chemistry, ecology, medicine, pharmacology and toxicology terms. Both words and definitions can be searched.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Online Authentication Required

BIO-MED Reference QU13 O98 2000; MAGRATH Reference QD415.A25 O94x 2000; VET MED Reference QD415.A25 O94 2000

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Stedman's Medical Dictionary

BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Directories

Nature Biotechnology Directory

Global information resource listing over 8,000 organizations, product and service providers in the biotechnology industry.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Analytical Science

WALTER Sci/Eng Reference QD71.5 .E53 2005

A ten-volume set describing the theory and applications of various analytical techniques. The index has more individual compounds than that of the Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry Authentication Required

Covers all areas of biochemistry including aspects related to molecular biology, cell biology, genetics, and biophysics. Intended for a cross-disciplinary audience.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Cancer

BIO-MED Reference QZ13 E56 1996

A three volume encyclopedia covering many aspects of cancer, including epidemiology, treatment, and molecular and genetic aspects.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Environmental Microbiology

MAGRATH REFERENCE Quarto QR100.B58 2002 Vols 1-6

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Evolution

MAGRATH Reference (Encylopedias) QH360.2 .E54 2002

This is a comprehensive and concise guide to evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology

MAGRATH Reference Quarto QR115 .E53x 2000

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Genetics

MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH427 .E532 2002 vols 1-4

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Immunology

BIO-MED Reference QW513 E56 1998

A comprehensive reference source of current immunological knowledge. Includes information for experimental and clinical immunologists and scientists and physicians from related fields.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology Authentication Required

MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH506 .C74 1999

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine

BIO-MED Reference QH506 E562 2004

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Frontiers of Life

MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH302.5 .F7613x 2002 v.1-4

Four-volume encyclopedia of the life sciences containing articles that are well illustrated with photographs, sketches, and graphs; each article ends with a comprehensive bibliography and there is an extensive subject index at the end of the fourth volume.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Works

Faculty of 1000 - Biology Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Current literature awareness service which highlights the "most interesting papers" in biology, based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading scientists.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Handbooks and Manuals

Cooper's Toxic Exposures Desk Reference

BIO-MED Reference WA465 C776t 1997

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Authentication Required

Available online and in print. QD65 .H236 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); BIO-MED Reference; MAGRATH Ref (Desk); VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; Wilson Reference

Annually published reference source for chemical & physical property data, nomenclature, structure, & composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic & inorganic compounds, conversion factors, & much more.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Current Protocols Authentication Required

Series of standard, authoritative guides to research laboratory methods in the life sciences; the U of M subscribes to 9 Current Protocols titles: Bioinformatics, Cell Biology, Human Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Protein Science, and Toxicology.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Handbook of Human Toxicology

BIO-MED Reference QV600 H2345 1997

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Information Resources in Toxicology

BIO-MED Reference ZQV600 I43 2000; VET MED Reference Quarto RA1193.3 .I54x 2000

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry Authentication Required

WALTER Sci/Eng Reference TP151 .H25 MAGRATH Reference TP151 .L36y

Classic reference covering the entire field of chemistry, with up-to-date facts, figures, numerical values, tables, and formulas.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Authentication Required

RS51 .M4x 2001 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference;<br> BIO-MED Reference QV772 M555 2001

Classic reference source for chemists; contains over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data, literature references, and more.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Nature Protocols Authentication Required

Nature Protocols is an online resource for experimental protocols, primarily in biology and chemistry, including authoritative, peer-reviewed 'Nature Protocols' and an interactive 'Protocols Network'. The two create a dynamic forum for scientists to upload and comment on protocols.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Extensive online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with detailed monographs on mechanistic and clinical aspects of the genes, disease states, and variations.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Physicians' Desk Reference

BIO-MED Reference Desk (non-circulating) VET-MED Reference RS75 .P5

Standard prescription drug reference, containing package insert information provided by drug manufacturers. Data on more than 4,000 drugs by brand and generic name, manufacturer and product category. Provides usage information and warnings, drug interactions, plus full-color photos cross-referenced to the drug. The U Libraries provide online access to the PDR through MICROMEDEX

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

MAGRATH Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989

Tables of physical and chemical data on molecules of biological significance.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Springer Handbook of Enzymes

MAGRATH Reference QP601 .E5158 2001

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Safety Information

Dictionary of Substances and their Effects (DOSE) Authentication Required

MAGRATH Reference RA1193 .D53 1992

An electronic version of the seven-volume work from the Royal Society of Chemistry, contains approximately 5,300 chemicals and their impact on the environment. Detailed information about the toxicity of the chemicals, physical properties and regulatory requirements is also presented.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Internet Resources

Electronic Texts

NCBI Bookshelf This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Growing collection of online, open access biomedical books; full text can be searched directly from this interface.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Gateways & Megasites

Statistics and Data

Data Resources

BLAST

Basic Local Alignment Search Tool (BLAST) finds regions of local similarity between biological sequences; the program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as help identify members of gene families.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
dbSNP: Single Nucleotide Polymorphism Database This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Public-domain archive of simple genetic polymorphisms in a variety of model eukaryotes, including single-base nucleotide substitutions (SNPs) as well as small-scale multi-base deletions or insertions, and retroposable element insertions and microsatellite repeat variations. Each dbSNP entry includes the sequence context of the polymorphism (i.e., the surrounding sequence), the occurrence frequency of the polymorphism (by population or individual), and the experimental method(s), protocols, and conditions used to assay the variation.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Ensembl

Provides data sets resulting from an automated genome analysis and annotation process for selected eukaryotic (primarily vertebrate) genomes. The Ensemble software system aims to provide accurate, automatic analysis of genome data; analysis and annotation maintained on the current data; presentation of the analysis to all via the web; and means of distribution of the analysis to users. Data can be accessed through text search and genome/chromosome browser functions. Through a data upload and distributed annotation system, Ensembl offers users the ability to display their own data sets in the genome browser framework; users may also share data with others.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Entrez Cross-Database Search This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Overviews and allows text-based searches of over 25 of the bibliographic databases and biomolecular data resources held at NCBI (the National Center for Biotechnology Information), including PubMed, OMIM, Entrez Gene, and Entrez Taxonomy; this site performs a simultaneous search of the various databases and reports back the number of hits in each -- you can then select an individual database to view detailed search results.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Entrez Gene This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Searchable database of genes from a wide range of organisms, supplying key connections to other databases providing map, sequence, expression, structure, function, citation, and homology data; a good starting point for investigating the structure and role of a particular gene.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Entrez Nucleotide This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Collection of nucleotide (DNA and RNA) sequences from several primary database sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, and PDB; text-searchable through Entrez Nucleotide; sequences are similarity-searchable through BLAST. The number of bases in these databases continues to grow at an exponential rate. As of April 2006, there are over 130 billion bases in GenBank and RefSeq alone.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Entrez Structure This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Provides text-based searching of records in the Molecular Modeling Database (MMDB), containing 3D macromolecular structures of proteins and polynucleotides; links to the Cn3D structure viewer program (download required). MMDB contains over 28,000 structures and is linked to other NCBI databases including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
ExPASy Proteomics Server

ExPASy (Expert Protein Analysis System) proteomics server is dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures as well as 2-D PAGE; includes the UniProt Knowledgebase (Swiss-Prot and TrEMBL) Protein knowledgebase; the PROSITE - Protein families and domains database; SWISS-2DPAGE - Two-dimensional polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis database; ENZYME - Enzyme nomenclature database; and SWISS-MODEL Repository - Automatically generated protein models. Site also provides a number of analysis and prediction tools.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
GenBank

GenBank is the National Institutes of Health genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. Sequence data in GenBank is searchable through sequence similarity algorithms such as NCBI BLAST, and textual annotation of GenBank sequence records is searchable through the NCBI's Entrez Nucleotide search tool.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
KEGG: Kyoto Encyclopedia of Genes and Genomes

Suite of databases and associated software, integrating current knowledge on the function and utility of biological systems (PATHWAY and BRITE databases), information about genes and proteins (GENES database), and chemical compounds and reactions (LIGAND database). KEGG is especially noted for its metabolic pathway database.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

The major national resource for molecular biology information; NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information. Includes bibliographic and data resources such as PubMed, GenBank, OMIM, and many more.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
NCBI Map Viewer

The Map Viewer provides special browsing capabilities for a subset of organisms in Entrez Genomes. Map Viewer allows you to view and search an organism's complete genome, display chromosome maps, and zoom into progressively greater levels of detail, down to the sequence data for a region of interest. The number and types of available maps vary by organism, and are described in the "data and search tips" file for each organism. If multiple maps are available for a chromosome, it displays them aligned to each other based on shared marker and gene names, and, for the sequence maps, based on a common sequence coordinate system.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PIR: Protein Information Resource

Provides many protein sequence databases and analysis tools, including the Protein Sequence Database and its successor, UniProt, functional analysis tools, protein classification and ontology systems.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Protein Data Bank

PDB is the single worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D structure data of large molecules of proteins and nucleic acids; the site provides a variety of tools and resources for studying the structures of biological macromolecules and their relationships to sequence, function, and disease.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PubChem

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
UCSC Genome Browser

The Genome Browser provides a visual display of chromosomal informaiton, allowing zoom and scroll over chromosomal and DNA sequence, showing the work of annotators worldwide. Other tools included on the site provide other means of accessing genomic and proteomic data: Gene Sorter shows expression, homology and other information on groups of genes that can be related in many ways; Blat quickly maps your sequence to the genome; Table Browser provides convenient access to the underlying database; VisiGene lets you browse through a large collection of in situ mouse and frog images to examine expression patterns. The site contains the reference sequence and working draft assemblies for a large collection of genomes. It also provides a portal to the ENCODE genome annotation project.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals

Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed.

T11 .S386 2006 MAGRATH Reference; WALTER Sci/Eng Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference

Published by the Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet formats" supplement available at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information

PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
NCBI Journals Database This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Useful tool for finding the full title of a journal in biomedicine, if you only have an abbreviation, or for determining from the full title what the official NLM and ISO abbreviations of the title are (e.g., for preparing a reference list).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration, and other disciplines in which effective communication with words and data is fundamental. In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations. The new edition has been revised and updated to include: The latest guidelines and examples for referencing electronic and online sources; New and revised guidelines for submitting papers electronically; Improved guidelines for avoiding plagiarism; Simplified formatting guidelines for writers using up-to-date word-processing software; All new guidelines for presenting case studies; Improved guidelines for the construction of tables; Updates on copyright and permissions issues for writers. New reference examples for audiovisual media and patents; An expanded and improved index for quick and easy access; Writers, scholars, and professionals will also find: New guidelines on how to choose text, tables, or figures to present data; Guidelines for writing cover letters for submitting articles for publication, plus a sample letter; Expanded guidelines on the retention of raw data; New advice on establishing written agreements for the use of shared data; New information on the responsibilities of co-authors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Writing Guides

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006<br>

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: and supplemental statements from the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors.

Bio-Medical Library WZ345 U58 1994

Covers guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. In addition, discusses retraction of research findings, order of authorship, definition of a peer-reviewed journal, and conflict of interest

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Library Information

Primary Subject Location

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5