185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Public Health

Page Type: 
RQS
ID: 
181

Staff ImageSubject Librarian: Lisa McGuire
E-Mail: lmcguire@umn.edu
Subject Description:This subject covers: the field of medicine that deals with the phsyical and mental health of the community.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *

PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
TOXLINE

TOXLINE includes citations to journal articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, and meeting abstracts, papers and reports on Toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Alcohol Studies Database

The Alcohol Studies Database contains citations of over 70,000 documents indexed by the Rutgers University Center of Alcohol Studies since 1987. The primary focus of the database is on research and professional materials dealing with beverage alcohol, its use and related consequences.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Global Health Authentication Required

Global Health brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Over 16,000 serial sources from more than 130 countries are scanned regularly for inclusion in the Global Health database, to produce approximately 25,000 new entries per year. Nearly all records have informative English abstracts prepared by scientists and linguists.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers - biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
POPLINE

Covers information family planning, population law and policy, and primary health care, including maternal/child health in developing countries in journal articles, monographs, technical reports, and unpublished works.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers the most of the sciences, including veterinary medicine and zoology. Provides bibliographic citations, plus author abstracts "for approximately 70% of the articles in the database." Each citation also includes a list of references cited in the source article. In addition, it is possible to retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work. Indexes articles, reviews, letters, etc. from over "5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Impact factors for many journals is also available. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
AgeLine Database

AgeLine, produced by AARP, abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. It covers aging-related issues for professionals in aging services, health, business, law, and mental health. AgeLine also includes selected consumer content. AgeLine summarizes journal articles, books and chapters, research reports, dissertations, gray literature, and educational videos from many publishers and organizations, including AARP. Links to full text or ordering options are included wherever possible.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Indexes, Other

Haz-Map

Contains information on hazards related to many occupations, whether due to chemicals, diseases, or other associated risk factors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
TOXNET

Online collection of toxicology-related databases including HSDB (Hazardous Substances Data Bank), IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System), TOXLINE, and several others. All databases can be searched at once.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

MNCAT Classic

Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries

Occupational Health and Safety: Terms, Definitions, and Abbreviations

BIO-MED Reference WA13 C748o 1999

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia of Occupational Health and Safety

WILSON; WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; BIO-MED Reference WA13 E56 1998

Intended as a resource for those who have responsibilities to safeguard workers’ health and safety, especially in developing countries. Covers the fields of toxicology, occupational hygiene, occupational cancer, occupational diseases of agricultural workers, occupational safety, psycho- social problems and institutions and organizations active in the field of occupational health and safety.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Textbooks

Foundations of epidemiology

Bio-Medical Library WA950 L728f 1994 Regular Loan

Basic epidemiologic concepts, such as rates and ratios, age adjustment, incubation periods, investigation of an outbreak time-place-and person, agent-value, inter- and intra-observer variability, odds ratios, randomized trials, and cohort and case-control study designs are illustrated using examples from a variety of conditions, including asthma, food poisoning, coronary heart disease, measles, stroke, lung cancer, ovarian cancer, breast cancer, venous thrombosis, histoplasmosis, lyme disease, and AIDS.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Internet Resources

Blogs

UMN: Bio-Medical Library - Public Health

This blog, authored by the Bio-Medical Library liaison to the School of Public Health is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in public health.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Gateways & Megasites

GPO Access

GPO Access is a service of the US Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Web Feeds

BioMed Central Feeds This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Direct Link to BioMed Central Web Feed Directory

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
BioMed Central Feeds: Public Health This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

BMC Public Health is an Open Access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of epidemiology and public health medicine.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Bringing Health Information to the Community (BHIC) RSS Feed

Website contains many useful public health links with a description of the resource. A digest version is also available.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Health Topics

Data on a wide range of population health topics. Items are listed alphabetically.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
USA.gov: Health RSS Feeds

Health related RSS (Web Feeds) produced by departments of the United States Government

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Web Sites

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System

The BRFSS, the world's largest telephone survey, tracks health risks in the United States. Information from the survey is used to improve the health of the American people.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
CDC Wonder

WONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Center for Disease Control and Prevention's National Program of Cancer Registries

-- Web information covering cancer incidence through national registries produced through Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Cancer Institute (NCI) who have jointly produced a set of official federal cancer incidence statistics from each state that has high-quality registry data.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is one of the 13 major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), which is the principal agency in the United States government for protecting the health and safety of all Americans and for providing essential human services, especially for those people who are least able to help themselves.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
DIRLINE

DIRLINE (Directory of Information Resources Online) is the National Library of Medicine's online database containing location and descriptive information about a wide variety of information resources including organizations, research resources, projects, and databases concerned with health and biomedicine. This information may not be readily available in bibliographic databases. Each record may contain information on the publications, holdings, and services provided. More Information >>

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
DPDx

DPDx offers reviews of parasites and parasitic diseases, an image libray, and information on procedures for laboratory professionals on how to collect, ship, process, and examine biologic specimens. Most of this materials is free from copyright and users are welcome to use the material in the public domain.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Genetics Home Reference

Genetics Home Reference is the National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes responsible for those conditions.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Haz-Map

Contains information on hazards related to many occupations, whether due to chemicals, diseases, or other associated risk factors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
HP2010 Information Access Project

The purpose of this site is to make information and evidence-based strategies related to the Healthy People 2010 objectives easier to find. The National Library of Medicine and the Public Health Foundation staff have worked together to develop pre-formulated search strategies for selected Healthy People 2010 focus areas.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Minnesota Department of Health

Links to information about public health, health care and health statistics in Minnesota. Includes links to health alerts, directory of hospitals and nursing homes, birth and death certificates, health facility complaints, flu shot clinics, etc.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
National Cancer Institute

The National Cancer Institute coordinates the National Cancer Program, which conducts and supports research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
National Guideline Clearinghouse

The National Guideline ClearinghouseTM (NGCTM) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
National Toxicology Program

More than 80,000 chemicals are registered for use in the United States. Each year, an estimated 2,000 new ones are introduced for use in such everyday items as foods, personal care products, prescription drugs, household cleaners, and lawn care products. We do not know the effects of many of these chemicals on our health, yet we may be exposed to them while manufacturing, distributing, using, and disposing of them or when they become pollutants in our air, water, or soil. Relatively few chemicals are thought to pose a significant risk to human health. However, safeguarding public health depends on identifying both what the effects of these chemicals are and at what levels of exposure they may become hazardous to humans - that is, understanding their toxicology.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Open CRS Network

A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology through the cooperation of several organizations and collectors of CRS Reports, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports.(More)

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)

"PAHO's country profile database functions as the official regional information source on mortality in the Americas." It includes health profiles of forty-four countries in North and South America. The report "AIDS Surveillance in the Americas" contains AIDS incidence and mortality statistics, age and gender, for countries in the Western Hemisphere.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Public Health Information & Data Tutorial

Public Health Information and Data Tutorial provides instruction for members of the public health workforce on issues related to information access and management. This tutorial is based on Public Health Information and Data: A Training Manual. There are no copyright restrictions on the contents of this tutorial or the training manual, and users are free to adapt or duplicate any portion.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Summary of Notifiable Diseases

The statistical summary of notifiable diseases in the United States is published to accompany each volume of the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), US Department of Health and Human Services, Atlanta, GA 30333.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
U.S. Census Bureau

-- A variety of census information availble fromthe federal govenment. Epecially noteworthy are the people and geography sections.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
World Health Organization HIV/AIDS

The World Health Organization's web site on HIV/AIDS contains sections on WHO and HIV/AIDS, HIV/AIDS Topics, Strategic Information, Facts and Figures, Publications, and a Media Center that includes press releases.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Worldwide Cancer Mortality Statistics (WHO - IARC)

-- This database from WHO (World Health Organization), provides cancer mortality data by country.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Societies, Agencies, and Organizations

Official Agency & Organization Websites

WHO - World Health Organization

WHO coordinates programmes aimed at solving health problems and the attainment by all people of the highest possible level of health. It works in areas such as immunization, health education and the provision of essential drugs.
NOTE: WHO publications are found in the Bio-Medical Library on the East Bank of the Minneapolis Campus.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Statistics and Data

Statistical Resources

American FactFinder

This is a data distribution system from the Bureau of the Census that will be the primary distribution locale for 2000 Census data. American FactFinder offers the capability to browse, search, and map data from many Census Bureau sources: the 1990 Census, the 1997 Economic Census, the American Community Survey, and other sources.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Census Bureau

The official web site of the Census Bureau, which is the primary source of statistical information within the U.S. government.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
FedStats

More than 70 agencies in the United States Federal Government produce statistics of interest to the public. This site provides easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by these agencies for public use.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
National Center for Health Statistics.

Provides surveys, data, vital statistics, state data and news. NCHS data systems include data on vital events as well as information on health status, lifestyle and exposure to unhealthy influences, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet formats" supplement available at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information

PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration, and other disciplines in which effective communication with words and data is fundamental. In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations. The new edition has been revised and updated to include: The latest guidelines and examples for referencing electronic and online sources; New and revised guidelines for submitting papers electronically; Improved guidelines for avoiding plagiarism; Simplified formatting guidelines for writers using up-to-date word-processing software; All new guidelines for presenting case studies; Improved guidelines for the construction of tables; Updates on copyright and permissions issues for writers. New reference examples for audiovisual media and patents; An expanded and improved index for quick and easy access; Writers, scholars, and professionals will also find: New guidelines on how to choose text, tables, or figures to present data; Guidelines for writing cover letters for submitting articles for publication, plus a sample letter; Expanded guidelines on the retention of raw data; New advice on establishing written agreements for the use of shared data; New information on the responsibilities of co-authors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Writing Guides

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006<br>

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Library Information

Primary Subject Location

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5