185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Psychiatry/Psychology

Page Type: 
RQS
ID: 
177

Staff ImageSubject Librarian: Jim Beattie
E-Mail: jbeattie@umn.edu
Subject Description:This subject covers: the medical science that deals with the origin, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of mental disorder.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers - biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MICROMEDEX Authentication Required

Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician's Desk Reference.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PsycINFO Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO supports searching cited references.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers the most of the sciences, including veterinary medicine and zoology. Provides bibliographic citations, plus author abstracts "for approximately 70% of the articles in the database." Each citation also includes a list of references cited in the source article. In addition, it is possible to retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work. Indexes articles, reviews, letters, etc. from over "5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Impact factors for many journals is also available. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Health and Medicine in the News

Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition].

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
LexisNexis Academic (ON CAMPUS USE ONLY) Authentication Required

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MasterFile Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Premier, designed specifically for public libraries, provides full text for more than 2,000 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for 2700 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 357 reference and travel books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts 2001; full text from 84,074 biographies, 86,132 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles as far back as 1975.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Indexes, Other

Mental Measurements Yearbook Authentication Required

MMY, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th and more recent Yearbooks. The electronic version complements the print version.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

MNCAT Classic

Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries

Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary

BIO-MED Reference WM13 C189c 2004

Defines words and concepts currently used in psychiatry. Incorporates new terms and diagnostic criteria on DSM-IV as well as terms from the WHO levicons on mental disorders and on alcoholism and other substance dependency that will accompany ICD-10

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties

BIO-MED Reference WM13 D637e 1989; WILSON Reference RC535 .D63 1989

Includes more than 2000 entries on anxiety disorders, panic attacks, specific phobias, and obsessive-compulsive disorders. Covers important research, treatments, and key researchers working in the field.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Lexicon of Psychiatry, Neurology, and the Neurosciences

BIO-MED Reference WM13 A975L 2000

Contains over 10,000 entries that describe common and rare psychiatric, neurologic, and genetic disorders. Extensive details on psychoactive drugs, their adverse effects in general and specific effects on various diseases and disorders.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required

Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND 1848

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Handbooks and Manuals

Kaplan & Saddock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry

BIO-MED Reference WM140 K173 2000

1. Neural sciences -- 2. Neuropsychiatry and behavioral neurology -- 3. Contributions of the psychological sciences -- 4. Contributions of the sociocultural sciences -- 5. Quantitiative and experimental methods in psychiatry -- 6. Theories of personality and psychopathology -- 7. Diagnosis and psychiatry : examination of the psychiatric patient -- 8. Clinical manifestations of psychiatric disorders -- 9. Deleirium, dementia, and amnestic and other cognitive dosorders -- 11. Substance-related disorders -- 12. Schizophrenia -- 13. Other psychotic disorders -- 14. Mood disorders -- 15. Anxiety disorders -- 16. Somatoform disorders -- 17. Factitious disorders -- 18. Dissociative disorders -- 19. Normal human sexuality and sexual and gernder identity disorders -- 20. Eating disorders -- 21. Sleep disorders -- 22. Impulse-control disorders not elsewhere classified -- 23. Adjustment disorders -- 24. Personality disorders. 25. Psychological factors affecting medical conditions. 32. Child psychiatry -- 33. Psychiatric examination of the infant, child, and adolescent -- 34. Mental retardation -- 35. Learning disorders -- 36. Motor skills disorder : developmental coordination disorder -- 37. Communication disorders -- 38 Pervasive developmental disorders -- 39. Attention-deficit disorders -- 40. Disruptive behavior disorders -- 41. Feeding and eating disorders of infancy and early childhood -- 42. TIC disorders -- 43. Elimination disorders -- 44. Other disorders of infancy, childhood, and adolescence -- 45. Mood disorders and suicide in children and adolescents -- 46. Anxiety disorders in children -- 47. Early-onset schizophrenia -- 48. Child psychiatry : psychiatric treatment -- 49. Child psychiatry : special areas of interest -- 50. Adulthood -- 51. Geriatric psychiatry -- 52. Hospital and community psychiatry -- 53. Psychiatric education -- 54. Ethics and forensic psychiatry -- 55 Psychiatry : past and future.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Statistics and Data

Statistical Resources

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-IV

BIO-MED WM15 D536 1994

DSM-IV classification -- Multiaxial assessment -- Disorders usually first diagnosed in infancy, childhood, or adolescence. Delirium, dementia, and amnestic and other cognitive disorders --Mental disorders due to a general medical condition -- Substance-related disorders-- Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders -- Mood disorders -- Anxiety disorders -- Somatoform disorders -- Factitious disorders -- Dissociative disorders -- Sexual and gender identity disorders -- Eating disorders -- Sleep disorders -- Impulse-control disorders not elsewhere classified -- Adjustment disorders -- Personality disorders -- Other conditions that may be a focus of clinical attention.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals

Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information

PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work

BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993

Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration, and other disciplines in which effective communication with words and data is fundamental. In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations. The new edition has been revised and updated to include: The latest guidelines and examples for referencing electronic and online sources; New and revised guidelines for submitting papers electronically; Improved guidelines for avoiding plagiarism; Simplified formatting guidelines for writers using up-to-date word-processing software; All new guidelines for presenting case studies; Improved guidelines for the construction of tables; Updates on copyright and permissions issues for writers. New reference examples for audiovisual media and patents; An expanded and improved index for quick and easy access; Writers, scholars, and professionals will also find: New guidelines on how to choose text, tables, or figures to present data; Guidelines for writing cover letters for submitting articles for publication, plus a sample letter; Expanded guidelines on the retention of raw data; New advice on establishing written agreements for the use of shared data; New information on the responsibilities of co-authors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Writing Guides

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006<br>

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Library Information

Primary Subject Location

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5