185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Physical Therapy

Page Type: 
RQS
ID: 
170

Staff ImageSubject Librarian: Liz Fine
E-Mail: evfine@umn.edu
Subject Description:This subject covers: the restoration of function and the prevention of disability following disease or injury with the use of light, heat, water, electricity, ultrasound, and/or exercise.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Subjects covered include acupuncture, terminal care, symptom control, osteopathy, Chinese medicine, homeopathy, rehabilitation, occupational therapy, chiropractic, holistic treatments, and podiatry.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 4 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Indexes over 300 major English-language periodicals in a wide variety of technology subjects ranging from aeronautics, chemistry, and computers to physics, plastics, and transportation. Many recent citations include abstracts.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 4 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Cochrane Library Authentication Required

The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer's Handbook.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Compendex and Engineering Index Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Provides extensive indexing of scholarly and technical periodicals, conference proceedings, and report literature in all engineering disciplines including applied physics, electronics, materials science, and related fields in science and management. Indexes nearly 3000 sources worldwide.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Index to Chiropractic Literature

Index to Chiropractic Literature is created by a group of health science librarians working in chiropractic colleges throughout the world. It includes citations to articles in 40 journals, and is searchable by keyword, subject, or author.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers - biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database

PEDro was developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Physical Education Index Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Search PEI for a wide range of Physical Education & Kinesiology topics including physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sports psychology & sociology. Scholarly and trade literature references are included. Abstracts were added starting in 2001.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers the most of the sciences, including veterinary medicine and zoology. Provides bibliographic citations, plus author abstracts "for approximately 70% of the articles in the database." Each citation also includes a list of references cited in the source article. In addition, it is possible to retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work. Indexes articles, reviews, letters, etc. from over "5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Impact factors for many journals is also available. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
SPORT Discus Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

The world's most comprehensive bibliographic resources for all aspects of sport and fitness. Includes Internet sites, conference papers, journal articles, unpublished papers and theses. Includes Full-text access to over 350 journals.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Health and Medicine in the News

Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition].

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
LexisNexis Academic (ON CAMPUS USE ONLY) Authentication Required

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Indexes, Other

images.MD Authentication Required

images.MD compiles over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine's series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

MNCAT Classic

Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
WorldCat Authentication Required

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
Covers all subjects. Provides bibliographic citations of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films and machine-readable data files published worldwide. Provides holdings information for nearly 30,000 libraries. Producer/Publisher is OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 65 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Internet Resources

Web Sites

ABLEDATA

ABLEDATA contains information on assistive technology products, from white canes to voice output programs, including detailed descriptions of each product, price, and company information.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
NARIC Disability Information Center

Includes REHABDATA, which is an extensive database of disability and rehabilitation literature abstracts; NARIC Knowledgebase, a directory of agencies, organizations, publications, and Internet resources related to rehabilitation; and the NIDRR Project Database, which contains information about every project funded by NIDRR in a given fiscal year.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Multimedia Materials

Image Resources

An@tomy.tv Authentication Required

The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration, and other disciplines in which effective communication with words and data is fundamental. In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations. The new edition has been revised and updated to include: The latest guidelines and examples for referencing electronic and online sources; New and revised guidelines for submitting papers electronically; Improved guidelines for avoiding plagiarism; Simplified formatting guidelines for writers using up-to-date word-processing software; All new guidelines for presenting case studies; Improved guidelines for the construction of tables; Updates on copyright and permissions issues for writers. New reference examples for audiovisual media and patents; An expanded and improved index for quick and easy access; Writers, scholars, and professionals will also find: New guidelines on how to choose text, tables, or figures to present data; Guidelines for writing cover letters for submitting articles for publication, plus a sample letter; Expanded guidelines on the retention of raw data; New advice on establishing written agreements for the use of shared data; New information on the responsibilities of co-authors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Library Information

Primary Subject Location

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5