185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Pharmacy

Page Type: 
RQS
ID: 
167

Staff ImageSubject Librarian: Wayne Loftus
E-Mail: loft0002@umn.edu
Subject Description:This subject covers: the practice of preparing and dispensing medicinal drugs.

Abstracts and Indexes

* Premier Resources *

MICROMEDEX Authentication Required

Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician's Desk Reference.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Web of Science is the Web interface for the ISI Citation Index products which cover over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Titles of the print equivalent are: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Coverage runs from 1975 to the present. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Business Source Premier Enhanced Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
This enhanced interface of Business Source Premier provides easy access to specialized reports such as company profiles, industry profiles, country reports, market research reports. It includes articles from 2,800 magazines and journals in business, economics, political science and public administration.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements

IBIDS contains bibliographic records, including abstracts published in international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the NIH.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA via OvidSP) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Provides information on all phases of the development and use of drugs and on professional pharmaceutical practice.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 3 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers - biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Natural Standard Authentication Required

Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed, tapping into the collective expertise of a multidisciplinary Editorial Board. Includes these databases: Foods, Herbs, & Supplements; Health & Wellness; Genomics & Proteomics; Medical Conditions; Comparative Effectiveness; Brand Names; and Interactive Tools.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
SciFinder Scholar Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

SciFinder Scholar is the best database for chemistry-related topics; Access it online, download software to use it on your home or office computer, access it from public computers in Walter, BioMedical, or Magrath Libraries by clicking on the SciFinder desktop icon (note: access contractually restricted to current U of MN faculty, students and staff). SciFinder Scholar includes journal and patent literature with references as far back as 1907 as well as information on chemical regulatory data, suppliers, reactions, and substances. You will need to download and log in to VPN before you can access SciFinder from off-campus.
Non-affiliates should see this guide for options.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Factiva Authentication Required

Full text source of global news and business information, major daily newspapers, newswires, academic and trade journals, magazines, transcripts of media programs, web sites, images. Covers multiple-language content of 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages. Background and financial information is also available on 25,000 publicly traded companies and along with market data on equities, funds, and indices. Search the full-text of the Wall Street Journal and other general, business and trade magazines and newspapers. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
Inside-Out: Complete Reference For Factiva.Com
Factiva.Com How To Get Results
Journal titles not included in this academic version of Factiva

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
LexisNexis Academic (ON CAMPUS USE ONLY) Authentication Required

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Indexes, Other

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required

This database contains authoritative, current information on herbal medicines and supplements, including safety, effectiveness, known constituents, and possible interactions with other substances. The database also includes alternative names, common uses of herbal medicines, and reference citations.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Patents (United States)

The USPTO Web Patent Database offers the full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976 and full-page images of each page of every US patent issued since 1790 through the most recent weekly issue date. Publisher/Producer is the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
STAT!Ref Authentication Required

Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

MNCAT Classic

Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources

American Men & Women of Science

Provides brief factual information on approximately 130,000 living scientists in biology, physical sciences, public health, mathematics, statistics, and computer science. Includes birthdate, education, professional career, and honors received.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography Authentication Required

Focuses particularly on contemporary scientists and includes selected bibliographies, chronologies, tables of scientific discoveries, and quotations.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Chemical Compounds

ChemIDplus

ChemIDplus indexes more than 368,000 records for chemical substances cited in the National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases. It is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure (requires Chime plug-in or ISIS/Draw). The records contain information on structure, names and synonyms, formulas, registry numbers, and some physical properties in addition to toxicity information and links to NLM-indexed articles which cite the substances.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Combined Chemical Dictionary Authentication Required

Database of descriptive & numerical data on chemical, physical & biological properties of compounds; systematic & common names; literature references; & structures. Contains all compounds included in: Dictionary of Organic Compounds (255,000 records) Dictionary of Natural Products (170,000) ; Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds (101,000) ; Dictionary of Drugs (40,000+) ; Dictionary of Analytical Reagents (14,000)

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology

BIO-MED Reference QH575 D554 1999; MAGRATH Reference QH575 .D52x 1999

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dictionary of Gene Technology Terms

MAGRATH Reference QH442 .Z48 2001

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dictionary of Gene Technology: Genomics, Transcriptomics, Proteomics

MAGRATH Reference QH506 .K333 2004

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dictionary of linguistics and phonetics

Wilson Reference P29 .C65 1997

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology

MAGRATH Reference QR9 .S56 2001

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

BIO-MED Reference W13 D711d

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Facts on File Dictionary of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering

MAGRATH Reference TP248.16 .S84 2001

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary Authentication Required

WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk) QD5 .C5 2001

Gives technical and descriptive data for common substances and phenomena. Identifies thousands of chemicals by name, physical properties, source of occurrence, shipping regulations, CAS number, hazards, derivations, synonyms and applications. Available online through Knovel as well as in print.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology

BIO-MED Reference QW513 C957i 2003

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Life Science Dictionary (BioTech)

Defines over 6,500 terms associated with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cellular biology and genetics, as well as chemistry, ecology, medicine, pharmacology and toxicology terms. Both words and definitions can be searched.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Online Authentication Required

BIO-MED Reference QU13 O98 2000; MAGRATH Reference QD415.A25 O94x 2000; VET MED Reference QD415.A25 O94 2000

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Stedman's Medical Dictionary

BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Directories

Nature Biotechnology Directory

Global information resource listing over 8,000 organizations, product and service providers in the biotechnology industry.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Analytical Science

WALTER Sci/Eng Reference QD71.5 .E53 2005

A ten-volume set describing the theory and applications of various analytical techniques. The index has more individual compounds than that of the Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Genetics

MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH427 .E532 2002 vols 1-4

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Immunology

BIO-MED Reference QW513 E56 1998

A comprehensive reference source of current immunological knowledge. Includes information for experimental and clinical immunologists and scientists and physicians from related fields.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology Authentication Required

MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH506 .C74 1999

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine

BIO-MED Reference QH506 E562 2004

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Frontiers of Life

MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH302.5 .F7613x 2002 v.1-4

Four-volume encyclopedia of the life sciences containing articles that are well illustrated with photographs, sketches, and graphs; each article ends with a comprehensive bibliography and there is an extensive subject index at the end of the fourth volume.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Handbooks and Manuals

Cooper's Toxic Exposures Desk Reference

BIO-MED Reference WA465 C776t 1997

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Authentication Required

Available online and in print. QD65 .H236 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); BIO-MED Reference; MAGRATH Ref (Desk); VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference; Wilson Reference

Annually published reference source for chemical & physical property data, nomenclature, structure, & composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic & inorganic compounds, conversion factors, & much more.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Current Protocols Authentication Required

Series of standard, authoritative guides to research laboratory methods in the life sciences; the U of M subscribes to 9 Current Protocols titles: Bioinformatics, Cell Biology, Human Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Protein Science, and Toxicology.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Epocrates Rx: Free mobile drug and formulary reference

Peer-reviewed drug information including off-label indications and formularies in an easy to use format. PDA software compatible with Palm OS and Windows platforms only. Free online access and free download of PDA/mobile version.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Johns Hopkins POC-IT Antibiotic (ABX) Guide

The Antibiotic Guide is a decision support tool intended to provide clinicians with concise, digested, timely information about the diagnosis and treatment of infectious diseases. The information is arranged so that it is clinically useful at the point of care, instantly. Search by diagnosis, pathogen, or antibiotic name. Palm version also downloadable at http://hopkins-abxguide.org/download_center/download_center.cfm#what_is_handheld

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry Authentication Required

WALTER Sci/Eng Reference TP151 .H25 MAGRATH Reference TP151 .L36y

Classic reference covering the entire field of chemistry, with up-to-date facts, figures, numerical values, tables, and formulas.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals Authentication Required

RS51 .M4x 2001 WALTER Sci/Eng Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; VETERINARY MEDICINE Reference;<br> BIO-MED Reference QV772 M555 2001

Classic reference source for chemists; contains over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data, literature references, and more.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Mosby's Drug Consult

Drug catalog including generic substitutions, therapeutic equivalents, and pharmaceutical preparations; CD supplement includes Drug Master Plus drug interaction tool, Patient Drug Consult and customizable patient education sheets.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man) This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Extensive online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with detailed monographs on mechanistic and clinical aspects of the genes, disease states, and variations.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Physicians' Desk Reference

BIO-MED Reference Desk (non-circulating) VET-MED Reference RS75 .P5

Standard prescription drug reference, containing package insert information provided by drug manufacturers. Data on more than 4,000 drugs by brand and generic name, manufacturer and product category. Provides usage information and warnings, drug interactions, plus full-color photos cross-referenced to the drug. The U Libraries provide online access to the PDR through MICROMEDEX

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

MAGRATH Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference QP514.2 .P73 1989

Tables of physical and chemical data on molecules of biological significance.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy

BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve QV704 R3879

This two volume set is a treatise on the theory and practice of the pharmaceutical sciences, with essential information about pharmaceutical and medicinal agents. It is also a guide to the professional responsibilities of the pharmacist.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Springer Handbook of Enzymes

MAGRATH Reference QP601 .E5158 2001

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
USP DI Advice for the Patient

BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve QV740 AA1 U86a

These annual volumes provide monographs on drugs and drug therapy, including adverse effects, dosing information, and drug interactions. Advice for the Patient is written in lay terminology and intended for the health care consumer.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
USP DI Drug Information for the Health Care Provider

QV740 AA1 U86d<br> BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve; BIO-MED <br> VETERINARY MEDICINE Periodicals (no call number)

These annual volumes provide monographs on drugs and drug therapy, including adverse effects, dosing information, and drug interactions. Drug Information for the Health Care Provider is written in technical language.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Internet Resources

Electronic Texts

NCBI Bookshelf This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Growing collection of online, open access biomedical books; full text can be searched directly from this interface.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Web Sites

Healthweb: Pharmacy and Pharmacology

-- Provides links to career resources, education programs, reference resources and more...

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Statistics and Data

Data Resources

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

The major national resource for molecular biology information; NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information. Includes bibliographic and data resources such as PubMed, GenBank, OMIM, and many more.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PubChem

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. Links from PubChem's chemical structure records to other Entrez databases provide information on biological properties.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals

Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers, 7th ed.

T11 .S386 2006 MAGRATH Reference; WALTER Sci/Eng Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference

Published by the Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet formats" supplement available at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information

PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work

BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993

Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
NCBI Journals Database This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Useful tool for finding the full title of a journal in biomedicine, if you only have an abbreviation, or for determining from the full title what the official NLM and ISO abbreviations of the title are (e.g., for preparing a reference list).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration, and other disciplines in which effective communication with words and data is fundamental. In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations. The new edition has been revised and updated to include: The latest guidelines and examples for referencing electronic and online sources; New and revised guidelines for submitting papers electronically; Improved guidelines for avoiding plagiarism; Simplified formatting guidelines for writers using up-to-date word-processing software; All new guidelines for presenting case studies; Improved guidelines for the construction of tables; Updates on copyright and permissions issues for writers. New reference examples for audiovisual media and patents; An expanded and improved index for quick and easy access; Writers, scholars, and professionals will also find: New guidelines on how to choose text, tables, or figures to present data; Guidelines for writing cover letters for submitting articles for publication, plus a sample letter; Expanded guidelines on the retention of raw data; New advice on establishing written agreements for the use of shared data; New information on the responsibilities of co-authors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Writing Guides

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006<br>

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: and supplemental statements from the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors.

Bio-Medical Library WZ345 U58 1994

Covers guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. In addition, discusses retraction of research findings, order of authorship, definition of a peer-reviewed journal, and conflict of interest

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Library Information

Primary Subject Location

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5