185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Online Veterinary Resources

Link to the following categories below:


Anatomy & Histology

Anatomy - Instructional materials developed during 29 years of teaching veterinary gross anatomy at Michigan State (4) and Iowa State University (25) by Dr. Donald R. Adams are available via this web site.  This interactive Educational Software covers many species.

Anatomy - Digestive System of the Dog - This Washington State University, College of Veterinary Medicine's website displays color illustrations of the digestive system of the dog.  Illustrations provided from the Atlas of Veterinary Clinical Anatomy, published by Hill's Pet Nutrition.

Anatomy and Histology of the Skin - This educational website from the Loyola University Medical Education Network intends to aid in the teaching of dermatology.  Edited by Jason R. Swanson and Jeffrey L. Melton, M.D.

Anatomy Images - Veterinary dissection images provided by the University College, Dublin.  Images cover both large and small animals.

Canine Anatomy - Provides overview of canine anatomy and organ systems and comprehensive links to canine anatomy articles, graphics, and information.  Chinaroad Löwchens of Australia also provides content and comprehensive links to a wide range of canine health, care, and breeding topics (http://lowchensaustralia.com/sitemenu.htm).

Embryology- 3D Model Movies - 3D Model Links contain 3D reconstructions of embryos, constructed from the serial slices are provided by the University of New South Whales, Sydney. Two embryos, a Carnegie stage 13/14 pig embryo, and a Carnegie stage 22 human embryo have been imaged, and the videos require Quicktime

Fish Histology - Provides histological information and images of the flathead minnow, including the respiratory system, digestive system, reproductive system and internal organs.  Resource provided by the University of Maryland.

Gross Anatomy of the Dog and Histology - Provides information, images, and illustrations on the anatomy of the dog and histology.  Resource provided by Washington State University.

Guide to Histology Sites and Pages: Histo-Anatomy Modules and Links - Provides information, images, and illustrations on histology and anatomy modules.  A wide range of systems, organs, tissues, and cells are covered.

Hill's Atlas of Veterinary Clinical Anatomy - These atlases provided by Hill's Pet Nutrition cover the cardiovascular and lymphatic system, digestive system, integumentary system, musculoskeletal system, parasite life cycles, respiratory system, special senses, and the urogenital system.

Histology World - Histology can be fun!  Website contains histology information, images, games, and entertainment.

Histology by Dr. Thomas Caceci - This course in animal histology and microscopic anatomy of organs developed by Dr. Thomas Caceci provides online lecture material and lab exercises.  Website is published by Virginia Tech.

Mammalian Histology - The University of Delaware's Mammalian Histology course is taught at a comprehensive level and concentrates heavily on human tissues and organ systems. A sizeable collection of color light microscopic images as well as black and white electron microscopic images have been archived and can be accessed by links with this home page.

Histology of the Blood - Website provides information and images of erythrocytes, sickle cells, granulocytes, agranulocytes, lymphocytes, leukocytes, and platelets, to name a few.

Interactive Drawings and Dissections for Veterinary Anatomists - Search database for anatomical illustrations, photographs, and movies for canine, feline, porcine, caprine, ovine, bovine, and equine species.

Fetal Pig Anatomy - Provides general labeled photographs documenting the dissection of the fetal pig.

U of MN Veterinary Anatomy Courses - Provides links to the University Of Minnesota, College of Veterinary Medicine's veterinary anatomy courses.

Virtual Pig Dissection - Provides interactive study guides and quizzes for the dissection of the fetal pig.  Resource is provided by Whitman College and requires the Shockwave media plug-in.

Back to Top

Anesthesia & Fluid Therapy

Anesthesia On-Line - This site is designed to provide technical information related to anesthetic management in veterinary practice.  Provided by the University of Guelph.

Back to Top

 

Associations & Societies

American College of Veterinary Pathologists - The American College of Veterinary Pathologists (ACVP) is an international organization for those specializing in veterinary and comparative pathology.  Successful completion of ACVP's rigorous certifying examination ensures scientific prestige and strong employer demand. ACVP is working to ensure the future of veterinary pathology with veterinary student chapter support and scholarship programs.

Canadian Veterinary Medical Association - The Canadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) is the national body serving and representing the interests of the veterinary profession in Canada. The association is committed to excellence within the profession and to the well-being of animals.  It shall promote public awareness of the contribution of animals and veterinarians to society.

Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates - The Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) certification program, which consists of four separate steps outlined below, is accepted by all state veterinary regulatory boards and the federal government as meeting, either in part or full, the educational prerequisite for licensure or certain types of employment, respectively.

ECFVG News - Includes program news and upcoming changes, information for the Fall meeting, program statistics, and information for new candidates for the Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) certification program.

Society of Toxicologic Pathology - The Society of Toxicologic Pathology (STP) is a non-profit association of pathologists and other scientists whose principal aim is the advancement of pathology as it pertains to changes elicited by pharmacological, chemical and environmental agents, and factors that modify these responses.

Veterinary Skills Training & Enhancement Program - The Veterinary Skills Training & Enhancement Program (VSTEP) is a joint venture of the College of Veterinarians of Ontario, the Ontario Veterinary Medical Association and the Ontario Veterinary College of the University of Guelph. VSTEP wishes to be the primary source of education and re-training for internationally educated veterinarians wishing to pursue a rewarding and successful veterinary career.

Back to Top

 

Avian Diseases

Bird Species and Their Common Diseases - AvianWeb.com provides a list of bird species and links to information on their respective common diseases and syndromes.  This site also provides information on bird healthcare.

Back to Top

 

Basic Sciences

Cell Biology - Provides general information and illustrations of plant and animal cells.

Lab procedures - This instructional multimedia provided by the University of Alberta documents pipetting techniques, gradient mixers, spectrometers, gel electrophoresis, and gel filtration chromatography.

Microscopy and Imaging Techniques - Explains a variety of microscopy and imaging techniques with textual information, charts, and labeled illustrations.  Provided by the University of Victoria.

Molecules in Motion - At Molecules in Motion, research scientists, teachers, and students alike can explore and gain a rapid and deep understanding of molecular structure and function from interactive, rotatable 3D molecular structures. We design custom animations, too!

Back to Top

 

Biochemistry

Animations for Cell Biology and Biochemistry - Animation resources cover biochemistry, cell structure, mitosis & meiosis, cell transport, cellular respiration, photosynthesis, heredity, DNA replication, protein synthesis, gene expression, evolution, viruses and other topics.

Biochemistry Online - Website provides the basics of biochemistry without compromising on the molecular details.  Covers lipids, proteins, carbohydrates, nucleic acids, binding, transport and kinetics, catalysis, oxidative-phosphorylation, signal transduction, and metabolic pathways.

Back to Top

 

Cardiology

Canine Cardiology - This resource covers the art of canine cardiac auscultation and is provided by the University of Saskatchewan, Western College of Veterinary Medicine.  Topics covered include the stethoscope, anatomy, the apex beat, auscultation, cardiac function, sounds, and heart rate.

Clinical Cardiology Concepts for the Dog and Cat - This resource provided by VetGo.  Sections include cardiovascular physiology, pathophysiology, clinical evaluation of heart disease, thoracic radiograph tutorial, general therapeutic concepts, acquired heart disease, heartworm disease, congenital heart disease, electrocardiology, and echocardiography.

Electrocardiography - Website covers the basics of electrocardiography.  This resource is provided by the University of Chicago.

Case Studies in Small Animal Cardiovascular Medicine - This site is designed to present small animal patients with cardiovascular disease examined by the author, Dr. Mark Kittleson, and his residents working in the Cardiology Service at the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital (VMTH) at UC-Davis. The format is that of a rounds session in which the signalment, history, and physical examination findings are presented on the first page followed by diagnostic studies.

Cardiology Chapters - Disease Management Project - The Disease Management project is comprehensive source for practical treatment strategies authored entirely by physicians from The Cleveland Clinic, recognized by U.S. News & World Report as one of the top hospitals in the United States.  This cardiology chapters section covers a variety of cardiac diseases.

Veterinary Cardiology Online - This site is primarily intended to provide educational material for veterinary students and practitioners in the area of cardiology at several levels.  At the most basic level, you will be able to view radiographs, ultrasounds and ECG traces, and listen to heart sounds in order to gain an appreciation for both normal and specific disease conditions.   Building on this will be the introduction of case material allowing you the opportunity to integrate the basic concepts into specific cases.  In addition, a concepts section and glossary will be available and linked to relevant material whenever possible.

Radiograph Database - Veterinary Cardiology Online - Search for specific radiographs in the database provided by Veterinary Cardiology Online by radiographic & clinical diagnoses and descriptions.

The Visible Heart - The Visible Heart® project, a novel educational tool for observing how a real heart works from within. You can see a beating heart, all the valve movements, the contractions of atria and ventricles, and the architecture of the heart as it beats. The Video Library features video clips and sample views from various anatomical sites within the heart.  The project was created jointly by the University of Minnesota and Medtronic and requires Quicktime.

Back to Top

 

Clinical Pathology

Veterinary Clinical Pathology Clerkship Program - The Clinical Pathology Clerkship Program allows interested senior veterinary students to gain an in depth appreciation of the specialty of clinical pathology, including learning experiences in surgical biopsy, cytology, hematology, clinical chemistry, and urinalysis.  Full text papers of participants in the program are made available electronically from 2001 to present.

Back to Top

 

Dentistry

Equine Dentistry - This site provides a valuable resource of information, photographs, and articles from the area of horse dentistry.  It provides information on anatomy, physiology, symptoms and description of dental and mouth problems, and aging.

Dental Anatomy of Specific Species - Detailed dental anatomy provided for cats, dogs, horses, llamas, rabbits, rodents, ruminants, and swine.  Published by Colorado State University.

Back to Top

Diagnostic Labs and Institutes

Animal Health Laboratory - The Animal Health Laboratory (AHL) unit of the Laboratory Services Division is a full-service, fully computerized veterinary diagnostic lab with an extensive cadre of laboratorians with post-graduate training and specialty board certification. The AHL provides a single source of laboratory services in the field of animal health, encompassing both food-producing and companion animals.  Provided by the University of Guelph.

Clinical Pathology Laboratory - The Clinical Pathology Laboratory at Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital provides clinical pathology support to the Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital by analyzing the cellular and chemical composition of blood and other body fluids, and the cytologic composition of tissue aspirates/imprints from VMTH patients. This laboratory support is also available by request to individuals with funded research projects.

Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory at the University of Minnesota - The University of Minnesota Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory (VDL) is a national leader in providing rapid diagnosis of animal diseases, identifying emerging diseases, developing new diagnostic methods, and training diagnosticians and veterinarians. VDL provides quality diagnostic services covering necropsy, bacteriology, clinical chemistry, cytogenetics, endocrinology, histopathology, immunohistochemistry, molecular diagnostics, serology, toxicology, and virology.

Back to Top

 

Diseases

Disease Management Project - The Cleveland Clinic Disease Management Project is a comprehensive source for practical treatment strategies developed by physicians from one of the country's most respected medical centers.  The content of this site is free and it is authored entirely by physicians from The Cleveland Clinic, recognized by U.S. News & World Report as one of the top hospitals in the United States.

Extension Publications on Animal Diseases - Extension publications on animal diseases are provided by the University of Nebraska Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources.  Full text papers are available for diseases of cattle, companion animals, general livestock, horse, and swine.

Centers for Disease Control- Healthy Pets, Healthy People - By following CDC's simple tips on the Healthy Pets, Healthy People Web site, you can enjoy your pets while protecting yourself against diseases they carry. Learn what germs your pets and other animals can carry by browsing the searchable database, prevention tools for people at extra risk and health professionals, and additional resources.

DAG Stat- Calculate specificity and sensitivity - DAG_Stat provides a comprehensive range of statistics calculable from 2 by 2 tables that are useful in evaluating diagnostic tests and interrater agreement. Statistics for the evaluation of diagnostic tests include sensitivity, sensitivity of a random test given the observed prevalence and test level, sensitivity quality index, specificity, specificity of a random test, specificity quality index, efficiency, efficiency of a random test, quality index, and others.

Long Beach Animal Hospital Disease Search - This resource provided by the Long Beach Animal Hospital provides information and images on the description, causes, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of a variety of animal diseases.

Foreign and Reportable Disease Surveillance (FRADS) - FRADS is a modest but vital component of a strategy to address the issue that veterinary education in the USA is internationally (globally) challenged.  FRADS effort has been to collate various resources and to facilitate self-education for farmers, veterinarians, public health workers, and the public at large. Individuals looking for international careers, teaching aids, preparation for certification and board exams, legislative promotion material, will also find these pages resourceful.

Review of Clinical Signs of Foreign Animal Diseases - This website provided by the University of California, Davis covers clinical signs of foreign animal diseases that a mixed veterinary practitioner might encounter.  Topics covered include foot and mouth disease, vesicular stomatitis, bovine popular stomatitis, rinderpest, malignant catarrhal fever, pleuropneumonia, hemorrhagic septicemia, bovine spongiform encephalopathy, and others.

Wyeth Animal Health - Disease Information - Select from livestock, companion animal, and equine species and click on the link for disease information to see a variety of diseases affecting that species.

Zoonosis Updates from JAVMA - These zoonosis updates are provided by the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA).  Includes a variety of infectious diseases that are transmittable from animals to humans.

Back to Top

 

Exotics

Ferret Illness and Disease Index - Triangle Ferret Lovers of North Carolina is a non-profit organization directed to educating prospective and current owners about the domesticated ferret.  This website provides links to a variety of websites, resources and publication on ferret illnesses and diseases.

Ferret Insulinoma - Website of the Long Beach Animal Hospital provides information the symptoms, diagnosis, medical treatment, surgical treatment, and prognosis of ferret insulinoma.

Ferret Pathology Notes - This publication by Bruce H. Williams, DVM of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology covers the pathology of the domestic ferret.

Snake Anatomy and Physiology - This article written by Holly Nash, DVM, is provided by PetEducation.com.

Back to Top

 

Gastroenterology

Comparative Gastroenterology - Website provides sample quizzes and study questions for comparative gastroenterology.  Resource provided by Ohio State University.

Back to Top

 

General Veterinary Resources

Emergency Case Simulator - The Royal Veterinary College - The Royal Veterinary College emergency case simulator provides cases that are based on true life emergencies and will be met in first opinion practice.

Emergency Medicine Case of the Week - Colorado State University - These emergency cases will provide you the opportunity to review emergency cases presented to the Veterinary Teaching Hospital of Colorado State University.  Each case is presented in the following order:  Patient profile, History, Physical Examination, and Questions/Discussion.  After you have reviewed this data and answered the questions, then click on the Answers and Discussion push button to check your answers.

Merck Veterinary Manual - The Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) has served veterinarians and other animal health professionals as a concise and reliable animal health reference for over 50 years.  The MVM is the single most comprehensive electronic reference for animal care information.  In addition, the online version features over 1400 images - including new video and audio files - that allow users to view rare disease-causing organisms, identify plants poisonous to animals, see characteristic lesions, or review practical laboratory techniques.

VeterinaryPartner.com - VeterinaryPartner.com is here to support your veterinarian and you in the care of your companion animals by providing reliable, up-to-date animal health information from the veterinarians and experts of the Veterinary Information Network (VIN), the world's first and largest online veterinary database and community.

Vetstoria Veterinary Videos - Vetstoria is run by fully qualified practicing UK vets. To help you understand your animal's health problem, they offer access to a free library of informative videos and articles.

The "Virtual" Veterinary Center - Link to resources listed by subject, including veterinary histology, microbiology, parasitology, entomology, clinical pathology, and chemicals, pesticides, and poisonous plants.

NetVet - Veterinary Resources: Specialties - NetVet originates from the vivid imagination and late night web-surfing of Dr. Ken Boschert, a Veterinarian at Washington University's Division of Comparative Medicine. Among this server's Web Pages are numerous views of Veterinary Medical and Animal resources available on the Internet and beyond.

Animal Health Conditions - American College of Veterinary Surgeons - Descriptions of many common health conditions affecting animals have been developed by ACVS Veterinary Surgeons and residents in veterinary surgery residency programs.  The website provides food animal topics, large animal/equine topics, and small animal topics.

AVMA Public Health Information - This website of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) provides public health information on a variety of topics such as anthrax, biosecurity, BSE, chronic wasting disease, food safety, foot and mouth disease, influenza, rabies, SARS, West Nile virus, and others.

Definitions and Abbreviations of Veterinary Terms - This glossary provides explanations veterinary terms and abbreviations.  Resource is provided by Washington State University.

Back to Top

 

Gynecology

Breeding Soundness Exam of Dog - This site provides information on identifying breeding soundness of the dog that is not only important for the medical records but is also essential in the case of a pre-purchase examination.  Failure to positively identify an animal could cause legal problems in the future.  This information is provided by Louisiana State University.

Back to Top

 

Immunology

Animations of Immunology - Immunological instructional multimedia provided by the University of Alberta has models for lymph nodes, major histocompatilbility complex I, naïve T cell extravasation, signal transduction, and type I hypersensitivity.

Kuby, Immunology - Animations - Eight animations of various complex text concepts and figures from Kuby, Immunology provide a better understanding of immunological processes. The animations also provide expanded explanatory descriptions of the illustrated text concepts.

Theoretical Immunology - This collection of full text papers with commentary expresses that to really understand immunology we must first understand the historical development of ideas on immunology. But to really understand its history, we must first understand immunology.

Back to Top

 

Large Animal Medicine

Colic in Horses - Full text papers on the evaluation of the horse with colic are provided by Joanne Hardy, DVM at Texas A&M University.

Large Animal/Equine Health Conditions - ACVS - This information provided by the American College of Veterinary Surgeons covers large animal and equine topics such as laminitis, laparoscopy, limb deviation, ophthalmology, urachus, colic, cryptorchidism, wound management, and skin tumors.

Large Animal Medicine Courses and Lecture Notes - Website provides complete lecture notes, publications, PowerPoint presentations, and slides for large animal medicine courses offered at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary

Bovine Infectious Diseases - Images documenting bovine infectious diseases are provided by Ohio State University.

Bovine Mastitis - Mastitis is the single most common disease syndrome in adult dairy cows, accounting for 38% of all morbidity. Mastitis may result following the introduction of microorganisms through the teat sphincter. The clinical course varies with the ability of bacteria to colonize and thrive in the udder, virulence, and host response. This information is provided by Kansas State University.

Dairy Cattle Necropsy Manual - When an animal dies unexpectedly, it becomes imperative for dairy producers to know the cause of death in case it affects the rest of the herd. It can be difficult to have a veterinarian available to perform a necropsy immediately after the animal's death.  This the manual serves as a guide for the dairy producer to do a field necropsy in order to gather information and tissue samples for his veterinarian to evaluate and to assist in the treatment of other animals if needed.  This manual is provided by Colorado State University.

Small Airway Inflammatory Disease - Small airway inflammatory disease (SAID) is a condition that affects a large number of horses and can be hard to diagnose. Although it causes coughing and/or significant exercise intolerance, you can actually look forward to significant improvement in your horse with proper treatment. Read through this website provided by Tufts University to learn more about SAID.

Back to Top

 

Microbiology

Instructional Multimedia - Microbiology - Instructional and interactive multimedia discuss a variety of infections, bacteria, and topics in microbiology.  This resource is provided by the University of Alberta and requires the Flash plug-in.

Microbiology Lab Manual - This laboratory manual for Microbiology 101 is provided by Washington State University.  Topics covered include staining and straining techniques, viruses, disease transmission, and many others.

Veterinary Bacteriology and Mycology - Online Photo Atlas - This Photo Atlas is intended as an aid to students in veterinary microbiology. The atlas contains photographs accompanied by short descriptions of bacteria, fungus, tests, and media in the following four categories: bacterial morphology, fungal morphology, phenotyping tests and plating media.  This resource is provided by the Royal Veterinary and Agricultural University (KVL), Denmark.

Back to Top

 

Miscellaneous

- These sites have info on more than one subject

School of Veterinary Medicine Online Courses - Tuskegee University - This website provides suggested reading material, objectives and study questions, and general information for a variety of biomedical sciences, pathobiology, and clinical sciences courses offered at the Tuskegee University School of Veterinary Medicine.

Animal Welfare Information Center - Alternative Audiovisual Materials
This site provides information on methods and sources available to reduce, refine or replace animals used in teaching, testing, and research. A fundamental goal of the Animal Welfare Act and the accompanying regulations is the minimization of animal pain and distress via the consideration of alternatives and alternative methods.

KASHVET- Online Veterinary Resources - This website endeavors to provide the veterinarian and students of veterinary sciences in India access quality learning resources and up-to-date information by harnessing the powers of the internet and Information Technology. It also hopes to provide a platform for meaningful expression, to highlight the problems faced by the Vets (practicing or budding), to stimulate changes from quarters that matter, and to portray the various facets of the Veterinary profession in India and Jammu & Kashmir.

Manual on Meat Inspection for Developing Countries - This manual provided by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) has been prepared by an experienced meat inspection specialist as the main author in cooperation with meat inspection experts from the four regions Asia and Pacific, Africa, Latin America and the Near East. The book is intended to guide meat inspectors particularly in the four mentioned regions in their daily work in urban and rural abattoirs. Veterinarians engaged in meat inspection will also benefit, especially in regards their supervisory roles in meat hygiene.

PennTags Veterinary Tags - PennTags is a social bookmarking tool for locating, organizing, and sharing your favorite online resources, and this link directs you to veterinary tags. Members of the Penn Community can collect and maintain URLs, links to journal articles, and records in the online Penn library catalog and online video catalog. PennTags can also be used collaboratively, because it acts as a repository of the varied interests and academic pursuits of the Penn community, and can help you find topics and users related to your own favorite online resources.

NAL Information Resources on Veterinary History - This bibliography includes works selected from USDA's National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection on applied veterinary science. To cover the topic of the beginnings of veterinary science, this resource allows one to explore those works that were published centuries ago as humans tried to deal with the health and care of the animals that were so important to their lives.

Back to Top

 

Nephrology

Atlas of Diseases of the Kidney - This five volume series is available electronically in full-text, and provides each volumes table of contents and the function to search the text by keyword.  High resolution images and power point presentations are also made available to accompany this resource.  The series is edited by Robert W. Schrier.

Chronic renal failure - Information slideshow on chronic renal failure is provided by Stephen P. DiBartola, DVM at Ohio State University.

Back to Top

 

Neuroscience

Veterinary Clinical Neurology Video Clips - This web site archives video-clips of selected patients of the Veterinary Medical Center at the University of Minnesota's College of Veterinary Medicine. The veterinary patients exhibited either neurology disorders or normal responses during a clinical neurology exam. The video-clips are identified by case number and are intended for use by faculty and students.

Back to Top

 

Ophthalmology

Veterinary Ophthalmology Cases - This interactive website provided by Ohio State University features veterinary ophthalmology tutorials for cases of large and small animals.

Ophthalmology Lecture Notes - These lecture notes provided by the University of California, Davis cover ophthalmic examination and diagnostic testing.

Back to Top

 

Parasitology

Companion Animal Parasite Council (CAPC) - The mission of CAPC is to foster animal and human health, while preserving the human-animal bond, through recommendations for the diagnosis, treatment, prevention and control of parasitic infections.  The CAPC promotes and facilitates the adoption of practices and procedures to protect pets from parasitic infections and to reduce the risk of transmission of zoonotic parasites.

American Heartworm Society - The mission of the American Heartworm Society is to be the global resource for the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of heartworm disease.  Their site provides veterinary resources, pet owner resources and media resources.

KNOW Heartworms - This enhanced multi-media website for KNOW Heartworms is a partnership of the American Heartworm Society, the American Association of Feline Practitioners, and Pfizer Animal Health.  The KNOW Heartworms campaign will educate veterinarians and cat owners about the real threat of the disease and the importance of prevention.

Parasitology Images - This site provides around 350 images as teaching aids for the training and education of veterinarians.  Liberties have been taken in grouping the parasites to provide a veterinary medical emphasis.  This resource is provided by Oklahoma State University's College of Veterinary Medicine.

Parasitology Review Questions for the National Boards - This list parasitology review questions for the National Board Exam is provided by the Companion Animal Parasite Council (CAPC).  The answer key for the questions is provided at the bottom of the document.

The Parasite - This website provides pictures of the eggs and oocysts produced by the various parasites that commonly inhabit the internal workings of domestic animals.  It is intended to be used as a guide so that you can easily identify what you see when studying fecal slides under the microscope.

Back to Top

 

Pathology

Anatomy and Pathology Links - This list of links to anatomy and pathology websites is provided by the Veterinary Support Personnel Network (VSPN).  It includes veterinary, human and general anatomy and pathology websites.

Principles of Pathology Outline and Notes - This PDF file provides the outline and notes for the Principles of Pathology course offered by D.W. Hayden at the University of Minnesota's College of Veterinary Medicine.

The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education - This popular web resource includes over 1900 images along with text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and examination items for self-assessment that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions.  This Resource is provided by the University of Utah.

Veterinary Pathology Student Case Archive - This archive of veterinary pathology cases from the University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine include cases for canine, feline, equine, food animal species, and others.

Back to Top

 

Pet Owner Resources

Centers for Disease Control- Healthy Pets, Healthy People - By following CDC's simple tips on the Healthy Pets, Healthy People Web site, you can enjoy your pets while protecting yourself against diseases they carry. Learn what germs your pets and other animals can carry by browsing the searchable database, prevention tools for people at extra risk and health professionals, and additional resources.

Pet Web Library - Mar Vista Animal Medical Center - The Mar Vista Animal Medical Center strives to provide informational materials on some of the most common medical concerns of pet dogs & cats.  Topics are arranged below alphabetically and provide a variety of information, images and resources.

PetEducation.com - The PetEducation.com web site contains more than 2,800 in-depth articles written by the Drs. Foster & Smith veterinary staff. PetEducation.com has received high ratings and awards of excellence from multiple organizations, and is visited by more than 14,000 pet owners and pet professionals every day from all over the world.  The site provides article for dogs, cats, fish, birds, ferrets, small pets, and reptiles.

Make Your Pet's Home Poison Safe - This interactive program provided by the Animal Poison Control Center of the ASPCA gives you information on hazardous foods, chemicals, and products in various areas of the house and let's you "clean up" each room to keep your pet's home safe.

Back to Top

 

Pharmacology

Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology - This website provides veterinary clinical pharmacology lecture notes, images, and information developed by the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine.

Pharmacology Links - This list of pharmacology links recommended for veterinary and animal science is provided the Veterinary Education and Information Network (VEIN).

Back to Top

 

Physiology

Pathophysiology of the Endocrine System - This hypertextbook provided by Colorado State University covers fundamental concepts in endocrinology and a tour of the endocrine system.

Anatomy and Physiology Links - This page includes sites of a general nature including information about more than one species or resources about humans for use in comparative study. For species specific anatomy and physiology information please go to the section on the specific animals pages using the links provided below on the Veterinary Education Information Network (VEIN) website.

Back to Top

 

Small Animal Medicine

Max's House - Feline Health Care Database - Max's House is produced in the interest of improving the health of cats everywhere. While every attempt has been made to assure the accuracy and completeness of the information contained herein, Max's House cannot guarantee the accuracy of the original sources of information or serve as a substitute for regular professional veterinary care. Max's House is provided for reference only and intends to be an outstanding and informative addition to your cat's health care program.

Mar Vista Animal Center Home Page - The Mar Vista Animal Center practice philosophy includes not only the finest pet care but the finest pet care education services to our clients and community. Select one of the areas of the surgery suite, pet web library, pharmacy center, and vaccine mezzanine to learn more about care for your pet.

Internet Animal Hospital Dog and Cat Health Care - Over 220 pages of dog and cat health care information are provided by ThePetCenter.com.  Pet health care articles are updated and new articles are routinely added.  View interesting images of actual dog and cat surgery cases, dog and cat diseases, vaccination issues, and read about whelping and breeding topics.  Test your knowledge of pet health care by taking the quizzes, viewing hundreds of pet photos on the album pages, and lots more!

Small Animal Medicine Clinical Problem Solving - This interactive website provided by Ohio State University features clinical problem solving tutorials for cases in small animal internal medicine.

Congress of the World Small Animal Veterinary Association (WSAVA) Proceedings - The Congress of the WSAVA Proceedings are made available electronically from 2001-present.  This link directs you to the 2008 proceedings, and other years' proceedings can be accessed at http://www.wsava.org. You can browse the Proceedings online by speaker, by category, or by typing in a specific search term.

Back to Top

 

Small Ruminants

Maryland Small Ruminant Page - The Maryland Small Ruminant Page was established to provide information to sheep and goat producers and anyone else interested in sheep and goat production and marketing. The web site includes original documents and images (by the author) as well as a comprehensive list of links pertaining to small ruminants.  It is maintained by Susan Schoenian, Sheep and Goat Specialist at the University of Maryland's Western Maryland Research & Education Center Sheep and Goat Information Resources

Onion Creek Ranch Tennessee Meat GoatsTM Articles - Many parts of the country have no access whatsoever to vets who have knowledge of caprine health or nutrition. Moreover, many breeders live in remote areas where veterinary services are not readily accessible even if they are available.  This website provides articles on goat health, nutrition, and management.

Back to Top

 

Surgery

Equine Castration - This resource is provided by the University of Georgia provides information in sequence for the steps taken to perform equine castration.

Surgery Lectures by Dr. Mueller - This website provides slide presentations of surgery lectures presented by Dr. Mueller at the University of Georgia's College of Veterinary Medicine.  Topics covered include laminitis, colic, lameness, fractures, field anesthesia, urogenital surgery, and others.

Small Animal Surgery Course Materials - These course materials are provided by the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine for their Small Animal Orthopaedic Surgery Lecture course, Small Animal Orthopaedic Laboratory course, and Small Animal Surgery Clinic orthopaedics rotation.  The following files are PowerPoint presentations that have been converted into RealPlayer media files.  Click on the course titles listed in the upper left on the website to view the files for lectures, presentations, course notes, and exams.

Veterinary Surgery Videos - Veterinary surgery videos are provided by the University of Michigan College of Veterinary Medicine.  Procedures covered include anesthesia, aseptic techniques, canine and feline castration, canine and feline spay, abdominal exploration, intestinal resection, repair of fractured femur, removal of medial meniscus, femoral head and neck ostectomy, modified retinacular procedure for stabilizing drawer, instrument handling, and suture patterns.

Back to Top

 

Toxicology

Plants Toxic to Animals Database - This database was created in order to assist veterinary students in identifying common plants that are toxic to animals. This database brings together information available in library books, plants grown in the Poisonous Plant Garden, mounted specimens of plants, and the reference notes for a toxicology course taught at the University of Illinois. Although the notes address toxic plants found in all regions of the U.S., only the species most commonly found in the Midwestern states are covered in this database.

Slides of Poisonous Plants - This site produced by the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine provides a list of slides of poisonous plants by both their scientific and common name.

Back to Top

 

Veterinary Exam Resources

- For exams like NAVLE, PAVE, BCSE and CPE

American Association of Veterinary State Boards - American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is the single entity that reports national licensing examination scores to the jurisdiction(s) where a veterinarian or veterinary technician desires to be licensed. AAVSB membership includes 57 jurisdictions, and AAVSB offer a variety of programs and services to assist our member boards with their mission of protecting the public.

Basic and Clinical Sciences Examination - ECFVG - The Basic and Clinical Sciences Examination (BCSE) has been developed by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) as the third of four steps in assessing educational equivalency for purposes of ECFVG certification. It is designed to assess basic and clinical veterinary sciences knowledge.

BCSE - Prometric Online Sample Test - This tutorial and sample questions for the Basic and Clinical Sciences Examination (BCSE) represent the major domains tested on the BCSE but only a portion of its full scope.  This site will also familiarize you with the computer-based testing program used during the examination given at Prometric testing centers.

Gumshoevet.net - GumshoeVet.net is intended as a resource for Veterinary Students. It contains numerous NAVLE board review documents, as well as some tests from the LSU SVM test file.  Clinical applications and reference information will also be made available.

NAVLE Board Review Study Resources - This link provided by Gumshoevet.net opens a folder that contains PDF and MS Word files resources to help you prepare for the North American Veterinary Licensing Exam (NAVLE).  Resources include an A-Z NAVLE study guide, bovine, equine, ruminants, small animal, and swine board review guides, and others.

National Board Exam Review Material - This website provided by Auburn University's College of Veterinary Medicine provides review material for the avian, bovine, canine, equine, exotics, feline, caprine, porcine, and poultry exams and other review material.

National Board Exam Study Resources - This website provides links to National Board Exam study resources and a list of library resources that are available at the University of Minnesota's Veterinary Medical Library.

National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners - The National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME) provides standardized examinations for use by state and provincial licensing boards as part of their licensure procedure for veterinarians. This site will give you more information about the NBVME and its activities.

Parasitology Review Questions for the National Boards - This list of parasitology review questions for the National Board Exam is provided by the Companion Animal Parasite Council (CAPC).  The answer key for the questions is provided at the bottom of the document.

Zuku Review - Every year, 25% of those taking the NAVLE fail. Every year, 30% of those taking the VTNE fail.  But pass or fail, 100% have to prepare.  What is your time worth to you?  Study smarter, not harder, with the Zuku Review TM which provides practice questions and study aids for the NAVLE, BCSE, and VTNE exams.

Back to Top