185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Medicine

Page Type: 
RQS
ID: 
150

Staff ImageSubject Librarian: Jim Beattie
E-Mail: jbeattie@umn.edu
Subject Description:This subject covers: the science of preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease and injury, as well as the maintenance of health.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

ACP's PIER: The Physician's Information & Education Resource Authentication Required

PIER is a product of ACP, The American College of Physicians and is a web-based authoritative, evidence-based guidance tool. PIER's disease modules include sections on diagnosis, prevention, screening, drug therapy, patient education and case scenarios. On the PDA application, topics are supported with tables, and references to Web sites for supporting articles in Annals of Internal Medicine and PubMed. PIER adds and revises information as new disease findings become available.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
BIOSIS Previews Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books from over 5000 publications. [BIOSIS Previews consists of Biological Abstracts (journal articles) and Biological Abstracts/RRM (reports, reviews, and meetings).] Basic truncation symbols are the dollar sign: $ or the colon: :.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 10 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Cochrane Library Authentication Required

The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer's Handbook.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Essential Evidence Plus (InfoPOEMS) Authentication Required

Essential Evidence Plus formerly InfoPOEMs, consists of two products -- InfoRetriever and the Daily InfoPOEMs. InfoRetriever provides filtered, graded, summarized evidence and clinical tools for use in the office or at the bedside. Daily InfoPOEMs provides a complete clinical awareness system for knowledge management.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA via OvidSP) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Provides information on all phases of the development and use of drugs and on professional pharmaceutical practice.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 3 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers - biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MICROMEDEX Authentication Required

Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician's Desk Reference.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required

This database contains authoritative, current information on herbal medicines and supplements, including safety, effectiveness, known constituents, and possible interactions with other substances. The database also includes alternative names, common uses of herbal medicines, and reference citations.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Natural Standard Authentication Required

Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed, tapping into the collective expertise of a multidisciplinary Editorial Board. Includes these databases: Foods, Herbs, & Supplements; Health & Wellness; Genomics & Proteomics; Medical Conditions; Comparative Effectiveness; Brand Names; and Interactive Tools.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PsycINFO Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers all areas of psychology. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields. In addition, PsycINFO covers books, book chapters, and dissertations. PsycINFO supports searching cited references.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers the most of the sciences, including veterinary medicine and zoology. Provides bibliographic citations, plus author abstracts "for approximately 70% of the articles in the database." Each citation also includes a list of references cited in the source article. In addition, it is possible to retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work. Indexes articles, reviews, letters, etc. from over "5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Impact factors for many journals is also available. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
TRIP Database

The trip database contained Evidence Based Healthcare reources. Each abstract denotes the source and description of information along with complete citations.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Web of Science (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Web of Science is the Web interface for the ISI Citation Index products which cover over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Titles of the print equivalent are: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Coverage runs from 1975 to the present. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Health and Medicine in the News

Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition].

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
LexisNexis Academic (ON CAMPUS USE ONLY) Authentication Required

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

MNCAT Classic

Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
WorldCat Authentication Required

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
Covers all subjects. Provides bibliographic citations of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films and machine-readable data files published worldwide. Provides holdings information for nearly 30,000 libraries. Producer/Publisher is OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 65 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Sources

Biographical Sources

Bibliography of Medical and Biomedical Biography

BIO-MED Reference ZW76 M889b 1994

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Dictionaries

Merriam Webster Medical Dictionary

Online medical dictionary that includes definitions and pronunciations of many terms, abbreviations, and acronyms.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Directories

Official ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists

BIO-MED Reference W22 DA2 O31

Covers the specialities of allergy and immunology, anesthesiology, colon and rectal surgery, dermatology, emergency medicine, family practice, internal medicine, medical genetics, neurological surgery, psychiatry and neurology, nuclear medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopaedic surgery, otolaryngology, pathology, pediatrics, physical medicine and rehabilitation, plastic surgery, preventive medicine, radiology, surgery, thoracic surgery, and urology.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Encyclopedia of Medical Organizations and Agencies.

WILSON Business Reference Quarto R712 .A1 E53; BIO-MED Reference W22 AA1 E5

Annual Publication

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Authentication Required

Concise as well as scholarly articles on a wide range of subjects. Also includes links to related Internet resources, and the Britannica Book of the Year. Search tip: When combining words in search, capitalize AND. For example: revolution AND 1848

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MedlinePlus: Medical Encyclopedia

MedlinePlus brings users the ADAM Health Illustrated Encyclopedia, which includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Forms, Tests, Inventories

Exam Master Online Authentication Required

Examination preparation and subject review for USMLE Step 1 (9000+ questions), USMLE Step 2 (5000+ questions), and USMLE Step 3 (3000+ questions), among others. Certification Review aids cover Family Practice, General Pediatrics, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and SPEX. Students can create self-study exams in a variety of subjects.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Handbooks and Manuals

USP DI Advice for the Patient

BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve QV740 AA1 U86a

These annual volumes provide monographs on drugs and drug therapy, including adverse effects, dosing information, and drug interactions. Advice for the Patient is written in lay terminology and intended for the health care consumer.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Textbooks

eBooks in the Health Sciences

Direct link to electronic books which are available by subscription for U of MN students, faculty, and staff.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Harrison's Online Authentication Required

Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison's principles of internal medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an online pretests section. Also included is an online forum where interested participants can post messages, read, or join any discussion threads.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MD Consult Authentication Required

Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

BIO-MED Reference WB100 M555 1999

Online version of the Merck Manual that covers numerous diseases and disorders, their causes, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments. Also available in print.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
STAT!Ref Authentication Required

Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Up to Date (AHC and Bio-Medical Library access only) Authentication Required

UpToDate is a subscription-based electronic clinical database with searchable, up-to-date topic reviews. The topic reviews include links to related subjects, references, tables, charts, graphics, X-rays, video, and drug information. (On site access only)

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Internet Resources

Web Sites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is one of the 13 major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), which is the principal agency in the United States government for protecting the health and safety of all Americans and for providing essential human services, especially for those people who are least able to help themselves.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
FDA

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
ICSI - Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement

The mission of our collaboration is to champion the cause of health care quality and to accelerate improvement in the value of the health care we deliver to the populations we serve. ICSI's vision is to be a collaboration that is deemed essential by its members for their improvement of health care and deemed essential by our community as a trusted voice for quality in health care.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Lab Tests Online

"Lab Tests Online has been designed to help you, as a patient or caregiver, to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. The site is the product of a collaboration of professional societies representing the lab community."

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Minnesota Department of Health

Links to information about public health, health care and health statistics in Minnesota. Includes links to health alerts, directory of hospitals and nursing homes, birth and death certificates, health facility complaints, flu shot clinics, etc.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
National Cancer Instiute

The National Cancer Institute coordinates the National Cancer Program, which conducts and supports research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs with respect to the cause, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of cancer, rehabilitation from cancer, and the continuing care of cancer patients and the families of cancer patients.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)

An independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Multimedia Materials

Image Resources

An@tomy.tv Authentication Required

The world's most detailed 3D model of human anatomy available online created by Primal Pictures. Includes features such as interactive zoom, rotation, angle, interactive layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, live action movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection videos and slides, surface anatomy videos and slides. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, bones.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
images.MD Authentication Required

images.MD compiles over 48,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine, all derived from Current Medicine's series of illustrated atlases. Each image is accompanied by detailed and informative text.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet formats" supplement available at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Writing Guides

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006<br>

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: and supplemental statements from the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors.

Bio-Medical Library WZ345 U58 1994

Covers guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. In addition, discusses retraction of research findings, order of authorship, definition of a peer-reviewed journal, and conflict of interest

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Library Information

Primary Subject Location

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5