Summer Hours
(May 27- Sept. 1)
- M-Th 8am-7pm
- F 8am-5pm
- Sa 9am - 5pm
- Su CLOSED
- * Sa, M (5/24, 5/26) CLOSED
- * F-Sa (7/4-7/5) CLOSED
- * Sa, M (8/30, 9/1) CLOSED
Government Publications for Veterinarians |
|
There are a wide variety of government produced resources and information for veterinarians and biomedical researchers. These include statistical information such as that available from the National Agriculture Statistics Service, regulatory information such as that available from the department of transportation or pet care information available from the US food and drug administration’s center for veterinary medicine.
This guide is designed to help you find the information you need from government publication sources. It is intended for veterinary students, faculty and others in the research community. Feel free to ask a librarian for help at any time as you use the library and search for government publications.
Many government reports and reports done by private agencies on government contract are issued by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
Introduction: These websites offer databases that search across government agencies and subject areas. They are good for finding general resources or bringing you to the proper agency. You may need to search again within that agency to find the specific information you need.
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted.
Code of Federal Regulations CFR
This website, also part of GPO Access, allows you to search all general and permanent rules published in the federal register. This is a jumping off point for a general search. For a more specific search, see the links below in the regulatory section.
This site offers a single location for searching across U.S. government information, and for keeping up to date on government news. You can choose to search for content located on either U.S. federal, state and local government websites or the entire Web -- from the same search box. Below the search box, the homepage includes government-specific news content from both government agencies and press outlets.
USDA Cooperative State Research, Education and Extension Service
This site is mainly a central resource for land grant university systems and state extension services.
What kind of statistical information does the government provide?
You can find these a number of ways. In most cases, you will find what you want electronically. There are also some printed data reports available in the library.
Datanet is an online system consisting of summarized statistical information designed to serve Minnesota's governments, businesses, schools, nonprofit agencies and citizens. The system contains statistics about social, economic and demographic conditions in Minnesota. Datanet delivers 200,000 reports, maps and data downloads annually.
American Statistics is an index available through LexisNexis. An important resource for statistical information is American Statistics Index (ASI), available through LexisNexis Government Periodicals on the Bio-Med library home page. You can use this database to search by keyword, subject, name of periodical, SuDoc number or using the statistical search form. Your search results often include a link to the full text as well as title, bibliographic, and subject information and an abstract to the contents of each statistical publication. Frequently, there is a detailed listing of tables and charts.
FedStats is another good jumping off point to find statistical information is FedStats. This site organizes the statistical information produced by more than 100 federal agencies in several different ways.
United Nations Common Database
Provides selected series from numerous specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas. Search for data from one country or international statistics. Access from the University of Minnesota webpage for IP authentification. Use this link for a University library guide to UNDB.
National Animal Health Monitoring System: The USDA initiated the National Animal Health Monitoring System (NAHMS) in 1983 to collect, analyze, and disseminate data on animal health, management, and productivity across the United States. The NAHMS team conducts national studies on the health and health management of America's domestic livestock populations. These studies are designed to meet the information needs of the industries associated with these commodities, as identified by people within those industries. This site includes:
- Animal health section with link to veterinary services
- Biotechnology
- An Animal welfare section with information on the animal welfare act and compliance inspections
The Centers for epidemiology and animal health includes surveillance and risk analysis with a yearly national animal health report and a summary of selected disease events publication quarterly available at: http://www.aphis.usda.gov/vs/ceah/cei/taf/allsummary.htm
List of statistical sites on the web. Includes US federal and state sources as well as many international sites.
This enormous federal website is the statistical reference for data collected by the US government. This website is useful as a reference volume and a guide to more sources of information. This is also a portal for the state and metropolitan databook and the county and city databook.
United States animal health report
U. S. Dept. of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, [2005]-
TC Veterinary Medical Library Gov Pub (US Docs) A 1.75/5: or electronic version
Veterinary demographic data reports./American Veterinary Medical Association, 1999
TC Veterinary Medical Library Reference Quarto SF611 .V47x Same Day Loan
World animal health No. 1, List A disease outbreaks, statistics.
Office international des epizooties, c1989-
TC Veterinary Medical Periodicals One day loan
To answer regulatory questions such as:
Start by consulting these sources:
Code of federal regulations 9, Animals and animal products
Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, General Services
TC Veterinary Medical Library Gov Pub AE 2.106/3:9/ or electronic version
International animal health code: mammals, birds and bees.
TC Veterinary Medical Library Quarto SF740 .I585x 2000 Regular Loan
Terrestrial animal health code / World Organisation for Animal Health.
TC Veterinary Medical Library Reference Quarto SF740 .I585 2005 Same Day Loan or
Electronic version
The Federal Register via GPO Access
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Search by keyword or agency or browse the daily table of contents, which is archived from 2000 forward.
Minnesota Board of Animal Health
As the official animal disease control and eradication agency of the State of Minnesota, the Board was created to protect the health of the state’s domestic animals. Includes information by animal species, disease topics and the following:
Minnesota North Star Local government webpage
Provides links to city, township, county, association and special districts government websites for local policies and news.
National Animal Identification System (NAIS)
This is a link from the Minnesota board of animal health to a fact sheet describing the NAIS process and how to get an identification number.
This government site allows you to find, view and comment on all regulations for federal agencies.
USDA APHIS Veterinary Services
APHIS Center for Veterinary Biologics
The Center for Veterinary Biologics regulates veterinary biologics (vaccines, bacterins, antisera, diagnostic kits, and other products of biological origin). See website for information on:
Federal Food and Drug Administration Center for Veterinary Medicine
This webpage is the main access to FDA information link for veterinarians. It includes:
Database of Approved Animal Drug Products
The Federal Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requires that each sponsor of an approved animal drug product submit patent and method of use information to this database, also known as the Green Book. It includes all animal drugs approved for safety and effectiveness. Use this website as a starting point for regulatory and guidance information about animal drug products. It is funded through an agreement between the FDA and the USDA.