185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Dentistry

Page Type: 
RQS
ID: 
47

Staff ImageSubject Librarian: Lisa McGuire
E-Mail: lmcguire@umn.edu
Subject Description:This subject covers: the medical science dealing with the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases and disorders of the teeth, jaws, and mouth.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Cochrane Library Authentication Required

The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making. The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer's Handbook.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Essential Evidence Plus (InfoPOEMS) Authentication Required

Essential Evidence Plus formerly InfoPOEMs, consists of two products -- InfoRetriever and the Daily InfoPOEMs. InfoRetriever provides filtered, graded, summarized evidence and clinical tools for use in the office or at the bedside. Daily InfoPOEMs provides a complete clinical awareness system for knowledge management.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
EviDents

EviDents provides access to medical databases. It is an evidence-based dentistry search engine that is a collaboration between EviDents.com, SumSearch and the Forsyth Institute, Centre for Evidence-Based Dentistry.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers - biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MICROMEDEX Authentication Required

Provides access to drug information resources, including DRUGDEX; POISINDEX; Martindale, the Extra Pharmacopoeia; Index Nominum; and Physician's Desk Reference.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Covers the most of the sciences, including veterinary medicine and zoology. Provides bibliographic citations, plus author abstracts "for approximately 70% of the articles in the database." Each citation also includes a list of references cited in the source article. In addition, it is possible to retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work. Indexes articles, reviews, letters, etc. from over "5,300 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. Impact factors for many journals is also available. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
TRIP Database

The trip database contained Evidence Based Healthcare reources. Each abstract denotes the source and description of information along with complete citations.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Health and Medicine in the News

Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition].

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
LexisNexis Academic (ON CAMPUS USE ONLY) Authentication Required

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

MNCAT Classic

Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries

Dental terminology

BIO-MED Reference WU15 D653d 2000

Ch. 1. Introduction to Dental Terminology -- Ch. 2. Anatomy and oral Structures -- Ch. 3. Tooth Origin and Formation -- Ch. 4. Practice and Facility Setups -- Ch. 5. Infection Control -- Ch. 6. Examination and Prevention -- Ch. 7. Radiography -- Ch. 8. Tooth Restorations -- Ch. 9. Prosthodontics -- Ch. 10. Endodontics -- Ch. 11. Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery -- Ch. 12. Orthodontics -- Ch. 13. Periodontology -- Ch. 14. Pediatric Dentistry -- Ch. 15. Dental Laboratory Materials -- Ch. 16. Dental Larboatory Procedures -- Ch. 17. Pharmacology -- Ch. 18. Emergency Care -- Ch. 19. Business Procedures Appendix Glossary Glossary of Acronyms Index

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Mosby's Dental Dictionary

BIO-MED Reference WU13 M8941 2004

Appendices: A. Symbols and abbreviations -- B. American Dental Association (ADA) dental codes -- C. Anxiety and pain management -- D. Clinical oral structures -- E. Dental professional organizations -- F. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 -- G. Infection control -- H. Legal and ethical issues -- I. How dental terms are made and read -- J. Nutrition and nutritional counseling -- K. Pharmacology -- L. Radiology and radiography -- M. Tooth numbering systems and explanation for mounting radiographs.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Directories

American Dental Directory

BIO-MED WU22 AA1 A5 (latest edition in Reference)

Includes information on National Dental Organizations, state and regional dental examining boards, foreign dental organizations, United States and Canadian dental schools, and dental trade organizations, as well as a geographical listing and specialty listing of U.S. dentists

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Canadian Dental Directory

BIO-MED WU22 DC2 C2 (Latest edition in BIO-MED Reference)

Includes names, addresses, communication numbers, and affiliations of dentists in Canada. Also, lists dental associations, faculties, laboratories, technologists associations, denturists, denturist associations, provincial dental associations, and suppliers.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Works

Primary preventive dentistry

BIO-MED Reference WU113 P9522 2004

1. Introduction to primary preventive dentistry -- 2. Development and structure of dental plaque (a bacterial biofilm), calculus, and other tooth-adherent organic materials -- 3. Developing carious lesion -- 4. Role of dental plaque in the etiology and progress of periodontal disease -- 5. Toothbrushes and toothbrushing methods -- 6. Dentifrices, mouthrinses, and chewing gums -- 7. Oral-health self-care supplemental measures to complement toothbrushing -- Water fluoridation -- 9. Topical fluoride therapy -- 10. Pit-and-fissure sealants -- 11. Oral biologic defenses in tooth demineralization and remineralization -- 12. Caries risk assessment and caries activity testing -- Periodontal disease prevention: facts, risk assessment, and evaluation -- 14. Sugar and other sweeteners -- 15. Nutrition, diet, and oral conditions -- 16. Understanding human motivation for behavior change -- 17. Dental public-health programs -- 18. Preventive oral-health in early childhood -- 19. Oral-health promotion in schools -- 20. Preventive oral-health care for compromised individuals -- 21. Geriatric dental care -- 22. Primary preventive dentistry in a hospital setting -- 23. Rationale, guidelines, and procedures for prevention of the plaque diseases.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Handbooks and Manuals

ADA guide to dental therapeutics

BIO-MED Reference QV50 A191 2003

Sect. 1. Drugs used in dentistry: Ch. 1. Injectable and topical local anesthetics. Ch. 2. Conscious sedation and agents for thecontrol of anxiety. Ch. 3. General anesthetics. Ch. 4. Analgesics: opioids and nonopioids. Ch. 5. Hemostatics, astringents and gingival retraction products. Ch. 6. Glucocorticoids. Ch. 7. Antibiotics. Ch. 8. Antifungal and antiviral agents. Ch. 9. Topical Antiseptics. Ch. 10. Agents affecting salivation. Ch. 11. Mouthrinses and dentifrices. Ch. 12. Fluorides. Ch. 13. Desensitizing agents. Ch. 14. Bleaching agents. Ch. 15. Drugs for medical emergencies in the dental office. Ch. 16. Managing medical emergencies in the dental office -- Sect. 2. Drugs used in Medicine: treatment and pharmacological considerations for dental patients receiving medical care: Ch. 17. Cardiovascular drugs. Ch. 18. Respiratory drugs. Ch. 19. Gastrointestinal drugs. Ch. 20. Neurological drugs. Ch. 21. Psychoactive drugs. Ch. 22. Hematologic drugs. Ch. 23. Endocrine/hormonal drugs. Ch. 24. Drugs used for connective-tissue disorders and oral mucosal diseases. Ch. 25. Skeletal muscle relaxants. Ch. 26. Therapeutics in renal and hepatic disease. Ch. 27. Drugs for neoplastic disorders -- Sect. 3. Drug issues in dental practice: Ch. 28. Oral manifestations of systemic agents. Ch. 29. Infection control strategies for the dental office. Ch. 30. Herbs and dietary supplements. Ch. 31. Substance Use Disorders. Ch. 32. Cessation of tobacco use. Ch. 33. Legal implications of using drugs in dental practice -- Appendixes and indexes: A. U.S. and Canadian schedules for controlled substances. B. U.S. Food and Drug Administration pregnancy classifications. C. Agents that affect the fetus and nursing infant. D. Prevention of bacterial endocarditis. E. Antibiotic prophylaxis for dental patients with total joint replacements. F. Antibiotic use in dentistry. G. Nitrous oxide in the dental office. H. Normal laboratory values for adults. I. Weights and measures. J. Calculation of local anesthetic and vasoconstrictor dosages. K. HIV and common antiretroviral medications. L. Sample prescriptions and prescription abbreviations. M. Drugs that cause photosensitivity.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Key Dental Facts

BIO-MED WU16 K44 (Latest edition in Bio-Med Reference)

Access initiatives -- ADA Seal of acceptance -- Consumer attitudes toward dentists and dental care -- Dental visits -- Safety in the dental office -- Consumer price index -- Cost comparison of dental care to general health -- Dental insurance coverage -- Expenditures for dental care -- Income and expenses of independent dentists in private practice -- Dental school applicants and indebtedness -- Dental school tuition and enrollment -- Dental manpower -- Membership trends -- Disabilities resulting from oral health problems -- Fluoridation -- Oral health of seniors age 65+, 1985-86 -- Oral health of employed adults ages 18-64, 1985-86 -- Oral health of school children ages 5-17 1986-1987 -- Sources for additional information

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

BIO-MED Reference WB100 M555 1999

Online version of the Merck Manual that covers numerous diseases and disorders, their causes, symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments. Also available in print.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
USP DI Advice for the Patient

BIO-MED Core Coll & Reserve QV740 AA1 U86a

These annual volumes provide monographs on drugs and drug therapy, including adverse effects, dosing information, and drug interactions. Advice for the Patient is written in lay terminology and intended for the health care consumer.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Internet Resources

Blogs

UMN: Bio-Medical Library - School of Dentistry

This blog, which is maintained by the Bio-Medical Library's liaison to the School of Dentistry is intended to keep faculty, staff, and students up-to-date on library resources and services of interest to those in dentistry and dental hygiene.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet formats" supplement available at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Electronic Styles : A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information

PN171 .F56 L5 1996 WALTER SCI/ENG Reference; WALTER SCI/ENG Ref (Desk); MAGRATH Reference; WILSON Business Reference; WILSON Reference; MATHEMATICS Reference; BIO-MED Reference WZ345 L693e 1996

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Health Professionals Stylebook : Putting Your Language to Work

BIO-MED Reference WZ345 F673h 1993

Handbook to help the reader write an essay or paper with proper usage and style for the health sciences. Pub. (National League for Nursing) ; no. 14-2551

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration, and other disciplines in which effective communication with words and data is fundamental. In addition to providing clear guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, the Publication Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage of the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures for use in writing, reports, or presentations. The new edition has been revised and updated to include: The latest guidelines and examples for referencing electronic and online sources; New and revised guidelines for submitting papers electronically; Improved guidelines for avoiding plagiarism; Simplified formatting guidelines for writers using up-to-date word-processing software; All new guidelines for presenting case studies; Improved guidelines for the construction of tables; Updates on copyright and permissions issues for writers. New reference examples for audiovisual media and patents; An expanded and improved index for quick and easy access; Writers, scholars, and professionals will also find: New guidelines on how to choose text, tables, or figures to present data; Guidelines for writing cover letters for submitting articles for publication, plus a sample letter; Expanded guidelines on the retention of raw data; New advice on establishing written agreements for the use of shared data; New information on the responsibilities of co-authors.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Writing Guides

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006<br>

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Library Information

Primary Subject Location

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5