Board Exam Study Resources
Websites
American Association of Veterinary State Boards
American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is the single entity that reports national licensing examination scores to the jurisdiction(s) where a veterinarian or veterinary technician desires to be licensed. This site has links to test sites, state boards and approved continuing education information.
Basic and Clinical Sciences Examination - ECFVG
The Basic and Clinical Sciences Examination (BCSE) has been developed by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) as the third of four steps in assessing educational equivalency for purposes of ECFVG certification. It is designed to assess basic and clinical veterinary sciences knowledge.
BCSE - Prometric Online Sample Test
This tutorial and sample questions for the Basic and Clinical Sciences Examination (BCSE) represent the major domains tested on the BCSE but only a portion of its full scope. This site will also familiarize you with the computer-based testing program used during the examination given at Prometric testing centers.
Gumshoevet.net
GumshoeVet.net is intended as a resource for Veterinary Students. It contains numerous NAVLE board review documents, as well as some tests from the LSU SVM test file. Clinical applications and reference information will also be made available.
Martindale's The Virtual Veterinary Center: This personal website has a comprehensive collection of links to websites and course and textbook content.
NAVLE Board Review Study Resources
This link provided by Gumshoevet.net opens a folder that contains PDF and MS Word files resources to help you prepare for the North American Veterinary Licensing Exam (NAVLE). Resources include an A-Z NAVLE study guide, bovine, equine, ruminants, small animal, and swine board review guides, and others.
National Board Exam Review Material
This website provided by Auburn University's College of Veterinary Medicine provides review material for the avian, bovine, canine, equine, exotics, feline, caprine, porcine, and poultry exams and other review material.
National Board Exam Study Resources
This website provides links to National Board Exam study resources and a list of library resources that are available at the University of Minnesota's Veterinary Medical Library.
National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
The National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME) provides standardized examinations for use by state and provincial licensing boards as part of their licensure procedure for veterinarians. This site will give you more information about the NBVME and its activities.
NAVLE Study Group
This Yahoo NAVLE study group is dedicated to people who want to take North America Veterinary Licensing Exam including BCSE (Basic Clinical Science Exam), NAVLE (North America Veterinary Licensing Exam) and CPE (Clinical Proficiency Exam).
Parasitology Review - One hundred parasitology questions and answers tailored specifically for the boards. Created by the Companion Animal Parasite Council.
Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence
The PAVE was designed to evaluate the education equivalence of foreign veterinary graduates (graduates of non-accredited veterinary programs outside the US and Canada) on behalf of participating AAVSB Member Boards.
Veterinary Licensing Exam (VLE) Study Group
This group is dedicated to people who intend to go to their Veterinary Licensing exams in North America. There are three exams for getting your Veterinary license if you are a foreign trained Vet or if you are graduated from a non-accredited vet school in North America, including BCSE (Basic Clinical Science Exam), NAVLE (North America Veterinary Licensing Exam) and CPE (Clinical Proficiency Exam). You can find any information you might need for getting ready for these exams here as well as study sources and official notes for these exams.
VetPrep is an online, interactive study resource for veterinary licensing exams consisting of a database of more than 2000 questions, formulated to highlight primary areas of interest in veterinary medicine. They offer a practice and a test mode.
Zuku Review
Every year, 25% of those taking the NAVLE fail. Every year, 30% of those taking the VTNE fail. But pass or fail, 100% have to prepare. What is your time worth to you? Study smarter, not harder, with the Zuku Review TM which provides practice questions and study aids for the NAVLE, BCSE, and VTNE exams.
Library Resources
Veterinary board review book : a complete review for the NAVLE and clinics / by written by Joshua Furman. 2006
Quarto SF759 .F87 2006 Three Day Loan
Swine diseases for boards : a review guide for the NAVLE / Audio Achievements. 2006
Audio CD or Book format. SF971 .S954 2006 Two Hour Loan
Veterinary board review [CD ROM] / Paul Pratt. 2001.
TC Veterinary Medical Library CD-ROM SF759 .V462x 2001 Two Hour Loan
Veterinary correspondence revision course. 1998.
TC Veterinary Medical Library Quarto SF756.3.V483x.1998 Regular Loan
1993 and 1984 editions are also available.
Review Questions and answers for veterinary boards/Pratt, Paul. 1993. 4vols.
TC Veterinary Medical Library SF759.R48x 1993
Self Assessment Questions and Answers for Small Animal Practitioners/ Pratt, Paul. 1993.
TC Veterinary Medical Library SF759.S452x 2 volumes
Practice form of the veterinary medical licensing examination of the National Board Examination Committee in cooperation with the Professional Examination Service/ Professional Examination Service. 1993.
TC Veterinary Medical Library Quarto SF759 .P73x 1993 Regular Loan
Veterinary Pursuits: a review for board exams/ Buckingham, Frank. 1992.
TC Veterinary Medical Library Quarto SF759.B83x 1992
Mosby's review questions & answers for veterinary boards / edited by Paul W. Pratt. 1998.
Five separate volumes: Basic Sciences; Ancillary Topics; Small Animal Medicine and Surgery; Clinical Sciences; Large Animal Medicine and Surgery.
TC Veterinary Medical Library Reserve Quarto SF759 .M67x 1998 Three Day Loan
Practice form of the clinical competency test (CCT) in veterinary medicine/ Professional Examination Services. 1988.
TC Veterinary Medical Library Quarto SF759 .P73x 1988 Regular Loan
Information for Candidates on the national board examination for veterinary medical licensing/ Professional Examination Service. 1988.
TC Veterinary Medical Library Quarto SF759.P732
Reference Materials
Definitions and abbreviations of veterinary terms http://www.vetmed.wsu.edu/glossary/glossary.asp
Merck Veterinary Manual Online: The online version the Merck Veterinary Manual is updated frequently and includes new chapters and expanded coverage.
Veterinary abbreviations and acronyms: http://www.library.uiuc.edu/vex/vetdocs/abbreviation.htm




