Biology
| Subject Librarian: Amy Hribar E-Mail: hriba007@umn.edu Subject Description:This subject covers: the study of living things and their vital processes. The field deals with all the physicochemical aspects of life. (From Britannica Online) |
Abstracts and Indexes
Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

Covers the biological and medical sciences, including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, botany, environment, microbiology, and zoology. Provides citations and abstracts to articles, conference papers, technical reports and chapters of books from over 5000 publications. [BIOSIS Previews consists of Biological Abstracts (journal articles) and Biological Abstracts/RRM (reports, reviews, and meetings).] Basic truncation symbols are the dollar sign: $ or the colon: :.
The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 10 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.
[

CAB Abstracts covers agriculture in its broadest sense, including crop production, forestry, environment, animal health and nutrition, veterinary science, agricultural engineering, biotechnology, soil and water, agricultural economics, recreation and tourism, rural sociology, and human nutrition and health. It provides bibliographic citations with abstracts in English for records of all languages. Indexes journal articles, monographs, conferences, and other primary literature.
[

This database provides comprehensive, multidisciplinary coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 sources including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Incorporates Pollution Abstracts, Water Resources Abstracts, and other specialized databases.
Areas of coverage include agricultural and environmental biotechnology, ecology, energy resources, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements (U.S.), pollution, toxicology & toxic emissions, and water resource issues.
The ESPM database is comprised of the following component databases:
Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/agabstracts
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/asfa3
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/bacabs
Ecology Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/ecolabs
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/eisdigests
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/envengabs
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/healthsafetyabs
Human Population & Natural Resource Management
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/hpnrm
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/indappmicroabs
Pollution Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/pollabs
Risk Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/riskabs
Sustainability Science Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/sustabs
Toxicology Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/toxicabs
Water Resources Abstracts
http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/waterabs

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.
[

Web of Science is the Web interface for the ISI Citation Index products which cover over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Titles of the print equivalent are: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Coverage runs from 1975 to the present. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.
[

The premiere index for the zoological sciences, this is a comprehensive index to the world's zoological literature from approximately 6000
journals. It covers all animal taxa from protozoa to the primates, and all aspects of their life cycles, behaviors, taxonomy, ecology and evolution.
The online version includes information not available in the printed index, such as taxonomic summaries of each animal discussed in an article,
geographical headings and additional subject approaches. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.
Printed index, 1864 - date, issued annually.
General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.
[

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
MasterFILE Premier, designed specifically for public libraries, provides full text for more than 2,000 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for 2700 titles. This database features: 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews, 357 reference and travel books including the World Almanac & Book of Facts 2001; full text from 84,074 biographies, 86,132 full text primary source documents, American Heritage Dictionary, 4th Edition and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Premier offers PDF backfiles as far back as 1975.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
ProQuest Newsstand provides indexing and abstracting for 150 full-text titles, plus another 200 regional news sources. Full-text titles include The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian, Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, USA TODAY, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and other newspapers of record.
Indexes, Other

Current literature awareness service which highlights the "most interesting papers" in biology, based on the recommendations of over 1000 leading scientists.
[Catalogs and Bibliographies
Catalogs
Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.
[
This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education
Covers all subjects.
Provides bibliographic citations of books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films and machine-readable data files published worldwide.
Provides holdings information for nearly 30,000 libraries.
Producer/Publisher is OCLC Online Computer Library Center, Inc.
The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 65 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.
[General Reference Sources
Biographical Sources

American Men and Women of Science is a biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available. This resource is part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
[Magrath Reference Q141.B528 2000
[A searchable biographical dictionary of scientists, covering all areas of science: physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology.
[Dictionaries
Coverage includes a broad range of subjects within human biology, physical anthropology, anatomy, auxology, primatology, physiology, genetics, paleontology and zoology.
[Provides coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology - There are also feature articles on important topics, such as genetically modified organisms.
[Encyclopedias

The online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Contains more than 8,000 articles written by the leading figures in their fields ? including 30 Nobel Prize winners ? edited and illustrated with the non-specialist in mind.
[QH302.5 .A2313 1996 <br>MAGRATH Reference;ENT/FISH/WILD
[
Covers all areas of biochemistry including aspects related to molecular biology, cell biology, genetics, and biophysics. Intended for a cross-disciplinary audience.
[MAGRATH Reference (Encylopedias) QH360.2 .E54 2002
This is a comprehensive and concise guide to evolutionary biology, from the origins of species to the selfish gene and beyond.
[BIO-MED Reference QH506 E562 2004
[MAGRATH Reference (Encyclopedias) Quarto QH302.5 .F7613x 2002 v.1-4
Four-volume encyclopedia of the life sciences containing articles that are well illustrated with photographs, sketches, and graphs; each article ends with a comprehensive bibliography and there is an extensive subject index at the end of the fourth volume.
[
WALTER Sci/Eng Reference Q121 .M3 2002
[General Reference Works

This resource brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource.
[Guides

Each record in the PEST-BANK Pesticide Product Data file describes a particular pesticide product in detail. Information available includes product names, product status, EPA registration numbers, registrant name and address, type of formulation, signal word, types of pesticide activity, active ingredient names and percentages, sites of application, and pests controlled. PEST-BANK is based upon the National Pesticide Information Retrieval System (NPIRS), an online database founded, developed, and supported by the Purdue Research Foundation, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana
[Internet Resources
Electronic Texts
This digital edition of the important and out of print Biologia Centrali Americana makes all 58 biological volumes available - Descriptions of over 50,000 and images of over 18,000 species of animals and plants are now accessible as never before.
[Web Sites
This project, coordinated by the University of Arizona, is an attempt to organize, survey, and display the diversity, evolutionary history, and characteristics of all groups of living organisms. Authored by biologists from around the world, the great Tree has roots, a trunk, stems, and branches that connect each organism to all others.
[Periodical and Newspaper subscriptions
Electronic Journal Collections

AMNH scientific publications disseminate the results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology. This collection includes full-text PDFs of current and back issues of AMNH scientific series.
[
Remote access available for University of Minnesota -- Twin Cities students, staff and faculty
[Statistics and Data
Statistical Resources
Style Manuals and Writing Guides
Bibliography Software

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).
[Style Manuals
T11 .S386 2006 MAGRATH Reference; WALTER Sci/Eng Reference; Ent/Fish/Wild Library Reference; PLANT PATHOLOGY Reference
Published by the Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors.
[Link to APA Style Essentials By Douglas Degelman and Martin Lorenzo Harris, Vanguard University of Southern California.
[Library Information
Primary Subject Location
Magrath LibraryBooks, journals and government publications in agriculture, biological sciences, human ecology, design, housing and apparel, vocational education, applied statistics, food science and nutrition, family social science, rural sociology and agricultural, and applied economics.
Campus: St. Paul Campus
Address: 1984 Buford Avenue
Telephone: Circulation: (612) 624-2233; Reference: (612) 624-1212
Main URL: http://magrath.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://infopoint.lib.umn.edu/
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/CentLib/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=28




