185x140Header
HAVE A QUESTION? ASK US!
Email | Chat | Contacts
(612) 624-4281
Refworks

Fall Hours:

  • Sept 8 - Dec 23
  • M-Th 8am-9pm
  • F 8am-5pm
  • Sa 9am - 5pm
  • Su 1pm - 9pm

Exceptions:

Nov. 25 Wed 8-4:30
Nov. 26-29 Thur-Sun closed

get firefox, the browser you can trust

Alternative Medicine

Page Type: 
RQS
ID: 
8

Staff ImageSubject Librarian: Liz Fine
E-Mail: evfine@umn.edu
Subject Description:This subject covers: a heterogeneous set of practices offered as an alternative to conventional medicine,including acupuncture, herbal medicine, and many others.

Abstracts and Indexes

Academic or Scholarly Articles Subject Indexes

AGRICOLA Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Search here to find citations and abstracts for articles from over 600 periodicals, as well as USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books on agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, rural sociology. Basic truncation symbol is the asterisk: *.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Subjects covered include acupuncture, terminal care, symptom control, osteopathy, Chinese medicine, homeopathy, rehabilitation, occupational therapy, chiropractic, holistic treatments, and podiatry.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 4 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
CINAHL Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

CINAHL, Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, has a multidisciplinary scope covering nursing, 17 allied health disciplines, biomedicine, consumer health, health sciences librarianship and selected standards of professional practice.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases

These databases contain information on the activity of chemicals in plants, and ethnobotanical uses for plants. Databases are searchable by plant(scientific or common name), chemical (e.g., ascorbic acid), or activity (e.g., antiviral).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Hypnosis and Related States Research Database

Database from the Society of Clinical and Experimental Hypnosis containing 11465 references to hypnosis related materials in journals and books.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
IBIDS - International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements

IBIDS contains bibliographic records, including abstracts published in international scientific journals on the topic of dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, herbal and botanical supplements from the Office of Dietary Supplements at the NIH.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Index to Chiropractic Literature

Index to Chiropractic Literature is created by a group of health science librarians working in chiropractic colleges throughout the world. It includes citations to articles in 40 journals, and is searchable by keyword, subject, or author.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MEDLINE (OVID) Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

MEDLINE includes citations from the fields of medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the basic biomedical sciences.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 40 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database/article index that contains over 17 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers - biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science. Ovid, a software company specializing in text retrieval applications and search interfaces, provides an easy to use interface for searching MEDLINE.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Native American Ethnobotany Database

-- Database of the materials found in the book, American Indian Ethnobotany by Daniel E Moerman PhD at University of Michigan. Information includes plant use, and references.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Native Health History Database

-- Database by the Indian Health Service and the University of New Mexico covering the history of Native Heath with citations from 1652 to 1970. Contains citations regarding traditional foods, herbal remedies, shamanism, etc.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
PubMed - U of M Students, Staff & Faculty Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

Primary source of journal article access for the health sciences - the campus version provides full text access to all Medline e-journals subscribed to by the University of Minnesota TC Libraries.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Indexes to Magazine, Journal & Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Health and Medicine in the News

Lists citations to health-related articles reported in the Star Tribune - Newspaper of the Twin Cities [Minneapolis Edition].

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
LexisNexis Academic (ON CAMPUS USE ONLY) Authentication Required

LexisNexis Academic is a collection of online databases: News, Business (plus corporate news and corporate financials), Legal, Medical, and Reference. International news sources are included.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Indexes, Other

HerbMed

An interactive, electronic herbal database - provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Authentication Required

This database contains authoritative, current information on herbal medicines and supplements, including safety, effectiveness, known constituents, and possible interactions with other substances. The database also includes alternative names, common uses of herbal medicines, and reference citations.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Catalogs and Bibliographies

Catalogs

MNCAT Classic

Search with MNCAT Classic to find books, journals, etc. owned by the library. Search by keyword, subject, title, or author for materials on your topic. MNCAT Classic lacks the faceted searching of MNCAT Plus, but can be easier to use if you already have a good idea of what you're looking for.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Sources

Dictionaries

Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary & Alternative Medicine

Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 M8937 2005

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Stedman's Alternative and Complementary Medicine Words

Bio-Medical Library WB15 S812 2005

A-Z word list -- Appendices. Anatomical illustrations -- Acupuncture and acupressure meridians and points Chinese/English; English/Chinese -- Chakras -- Common enzymes -- Herbs; scientific names/common names; common names/ scientific names -- Common phytochemicals and common classes of phytochemicals -- Major alternative medicine modalities -- Alternative medicine definitions -- Treatments by indication -- Common herbal remedies -- Alternative & complementary medicine websites -- National board contacts -- Sample reports and dictation -- Common terms by procedure.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Dictionary of natural products: terms in the field of pharmacognosy

BIO-MED Reference QV13 H685d 1997; MAGRATH Reference RS160 .H55 1997

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Stedman's Medical Dictionary

BIO-MED Reference W13 S812m 2006

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

General Reference Works

Natural Standard Authentication Required

Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed, tapping into the collective expertise of a multidisciplinary Editorial Board. Includes these databases: Foods, Herbs, & Supplements; Health & Wellness; Genomics & Proteomics; Medical Conditions; Comparative Effectiveness; Brand Names; and Interactive Tools.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Handbooks and Manuals

Natural Standard Herb & Supplement Handbook : the Clinical Bottom Line

Bio-Medical Library Reference QV39 N285 2005

This handbook on 91 commonly used herbs and supplements contains essential information on safety, efficacy, and interactions.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Handbook of Medicinal Herbs

Bio-Medical Library Reference QV767 D877h 2002 ; Magrath Library Reference QK99.A1 D83 2002

Entries include synonyms, activities, indications for use, dosage, contraindications, interactions, and side effects, extracts, and illustrations of the plant. Previously published: CRC handbook of medicinal herbs.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
Professional's Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicines

Bio-Medical Library Reference WB39 F419p 2004

Covers the history of complementary and alternative medicines and discusses the uses, risks, and regulations of alternative versus traditional medicine. Each of the alternative medicine monographs includes the generic name, synonyms, taxonomic class, common trade names, common forms, source, chemical components, actions, reported uses, dosage, advers reactions, interactions, contraindications and precautions, special considerations, points of interest, commentary, and references.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Internet Resources

Gateways & Megasites

Alternative Medicine Home Page

List of websites, databases, and mailing lists regarding Alternative Medicine collected by staff at the Falk Library of the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
NOAH: Complementary and Alternative Medicine

NOAH (New York Online Access to Health) provides access to high quality full-text consumer health information in English and Spanish that is accurate, timely, relevant and unbiased.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Web Sites

MedlinePlus: Alternative Medicine

Quality, pre-evaluated information about alternative and complementary medicine, including news, overviews, specific conditions, and more.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]
MedlinePlus: Complementary and Alternative Therapies Topics

Quality, pre-evaluated information on topics such as acupuncture, chiropractic, herbals, and other complementary and alternative therapies.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Societies, Agencies, and Organizations

Official Agency & Organization Websites

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCAM)

Division of the NIH concerned with alternative medicine. Resources include CAM citation index listing articles from 1963 - present, research grant information and bibliographies.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals and Writing Guides

Bibliography Software

RefWorks: Personal Citation Manager Authentication Required This database is enhanced by Find It: the University Libraries Linking Service.

RefWorks is a web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own databases of citations by importing references from MNCAT and other databases, and then in seconds automatically generate bibliographies in all major styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, Chicago, etc.).

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Style Manuals

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Includes recommended citation format styles for journals, books, conference publications, patents, audio visuals, electronic information, maps, legal materials, newspaper articles, bibliographies, dissertations, and scientific reports. "Internet formats" supplement available at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/formats/internet.pdf

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Writing Guides

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper

TC Magrath Library T11 .D33 2006<br>

Concisely covers all aspects of science writing, from choosing a title to acknowledgments and references: submission strategies; other forms of science writing (book reviews, theses, presentations, posters); English language usage.

[Add To myLibrary! Add To myLibrary!]

Library Information

Primary Subject Location

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5

Secondary Subject Location(s)

Bio-Medical Library
Health sciences: allied health, dentistry, medicine, mortuary science, nursing, pharmacy, psychiatry and public health.
Campus: East Bank, Minneapolis Campus
Address: Diehl Hall, 505 Essex St. S.E.
Telephone: Reference: 612-626-3260; Circulation: 612-626-4045
Main URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/
Reference URL: http://www.biomed.lib.umn.edu/services/reference
Map URL: http://onestop.umn.edu/Maps/DiehlH/index.html
Hours URL: http://www.lib.umn.edu/site/fetch_hours.phtml?LibID=5